Comprehensive · Source does not publish funding, application deadline, faculty profile
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Entry requirements published; international route unconfirmed
Funding
Not published: in the UNAM SIDEP site listing for sede 428, the UNAM Alta Especialidad applicant page and the UNAM Becas SECIHTI Posgrado page (15 October 2026), no stipend, fee or funding arrangement is stated for the UNAM Cirugía Articular course at Centro Médico Lic. Arturo Montiel Rojas (ISSEMYM). Confirm directly with the programme coordinator.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
1 year (UNAM Curso de Posgrado de Alta Especialidad en Medicina, course code 2147); current cycle 1 March 2026 – 28 February 2027
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureFull-time, tutor-based UNAM high-specialty course in joint surgery hosted at ISSEMYM's Centro Médico in Toluca. UNAM describes these courses as 1–2 year tutorial programmes requiring exclusive dedication, with specific competencies defined per course. Case volumes are not published.
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
—Not published
International applicants
UNAM accepts specialists trained abroad if their documents are apostilled or legalised by a Mexican consulate, but the applicant must first be accepted by the ISSEMYM host site and be board-certified. Teaching is in Spanish; hospital-level selection details are not published.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
UNAM enrolment requires board certification in the prerequisite specialty and prior acceptance by the host hospital.
—Not published
Language
Not published: in the UNAM SIDEP site listing for sede 428, the UNAM Alta Especialidad applicant page and the UNAM Becas SECIHTI Posgrado page (15 October 2026), no language requirement or language-test score is stated for the UNAM Cirugía Articular course at Centro Médico Lic. Arturo Montiel Rojas (ISSEMYM). Confirm directly with the programme coordinator.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published: in the UNAM SIDEP site listing for sede 428, the UNAM Alta Especialidad applicant page and the UNAM Becas SECIHTI Posgrado page (15 October 2026), no visa, immigration or work-authorisation term is stated for the UNAM Cirugía Articular course at Centro Médico Lic. Arturo Montiel Rojas (ISSEMYM). Confirm directly with the programme coordinator.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY69% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-15 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-13
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— Faculty information requires reverification · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateUNAM cycles run 1 March to end of February (current cycle 2026–2027 started 1 March 2026)
Application route / cycleAnnual UNAM cycle starting 1 March; the course is listed as available in the current 2026–2027 cycle. No hospital application call or dates are published.
University title or diploma in the prerequisite specialty
Certification by the corresponding specialty board (consejo)
Acceptance by the hospital academic site (signed acceptance letter from the head of teaching)
Enrolment with UNAM within the official enrolment period
Application documents
Published by official source
Original and copy of the specialty university diploma registered with the SEP Dirección General de Profesiones, plus specialist cédula or full official specialty transcript
Original birth certificate
Original acceptance letter from the university hospital site, signed and stamped by the head of teaching, for each year of enrolment
For specialists trained abroad: documents apostilled or legalised by the Mexican consulate in the country of origin
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
UNAM's Faculty of Medicine postgraduate system lists Centro Médico "Lic. Arturo Montiel Rojas" del ISSEMYM as an academic site for its one-year high-specialty course in joint surgery (Cirugía Articular, code 2147), available in the 2026–2027 cycle. Candidates need a board-certified prerequisite specialty and an acceptance letter from the hospital.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Centro Médico "Lic. Arturo Montiel Rojas" del ISSEMYM (UNAM Faculty of Medicine academic site)
Centro Médico "Lic. Arturo Montiel Rojas" del ISSEMYM (UNAM Faculty of Medicine academic site) in Toluca, Estado de México, Mexico is the published host setting for this pathway. The cited programme record describes full-time, tutor-based UNAM high-specialty course in joint surgery hosted at ISSEMYM's Centro Médico in Toluca. UNAM describes these courses as 1–2 year tutorial programmes requiring exclusive dedication, with specific competencies defined per course. Case volumes are not published..
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Mexico City, Mexico City, Mexico · Not stated on the HGM course page; the ISAKOS directory entry for this hospital states joint surgery runs 1 yearView program profile →
Mexico City, Mexico City, Mexico · Not stated on the HGM course page; the ISAKOS directory entry for this hospital states hip surgery runs 1 yearView program profile →
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy