Well sourced · Source does not publish funding, application deadline, commencement date
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Historical requirements — confirm current terms
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Historical 2026 call closed 14 August 2026 at 15:00; next deadline not published
Duration
1 year (full-time Curso de Alta Especialidad)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureHigh-specialty joint-surgery course (Cirugía Articular) at Hospital Universitario Dr. José Eleuterio González / UANL, covering clinical and operative training in articular pathology as framed in the university alta-especialidad catalogue. Exact case-mix volumes are not published on the catalogue pages reviewed.
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
?Historical information only — confirm current terms
International applicants
The closed 2026 call includes foreign applicants and requires a passport and maintenance-funding letter. Its Mexican credential requirements need individual equivalence confirmation; this does not establish eligibility for the next intake.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
?Historical information only — confirm current terms
Medical registration
Selected candidates must also submit an original physical-health certificate.
?Historical information only — confirm current terms
Language
The 2026 call required an online English evaluation, without a published threshold. Course teaching language is not specified on the reviewed pages.
?Historical information only — confirm current terms
Visa or work authorisation
Historical 2026 call wording: selected foreign applicants must present a current FM3 migratory form. Confirm current immigration requirements with the university; no sponsorship entitlement is stated.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY41% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-14 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-12
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ official contact✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · historical evidence only— international eligibility · historical evidence only— Language requirement not published · historical evidence only— Registration information not published · historical evidence only— visa / work authorisation · historical evidence only— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · historical evidence only— application portal · historical evidence only— Faculty information requires reverification · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— accreditation / organisation source · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineHistorical 2026 call closed 14 August 2026 at 15:00; next deadline not published
Commencing dateNext intake not published in the course catalogue or reviewed 2026 call.
Application route / cycleAnnual call. The 2026 call (now closed) had three registration phases: 8–26 June, 29 June–17 July and 20 July–14 August 2026 (closing 15:00 on 14 August); online English and psychometric tests in July–August, online knowledge exams 9, 10, 11 and 14 September, and interviews 17 September–16 October 2026.
Historical information only — confirm current terms
Specialty title in Orthopaedics and Traumatology (Ortopedia y Traumatología)
Selection by UANL internal competition (English and psychometric tests, knowledge exam, departmental interview)
Application documents
Historical information only — confirm current terms
Official undergraduate (licenciatura) certificate and grade-average letter
Medical degree title or cédula profesional (both sides)
Title/cédula of the prerequisite specialty (or official certificate / title-in-process letter)
Letter from the training institution for applicants still in the final year of the prerequisite specialty
ENARM pass certificate for the prerequisite specialty
Two recommendation letters (one from the head of service where the prerequisite specialty was done), addressed to the Subdirector de Estudios de Posgrado
CV in the faculty's required format
Digital photograph (white background, formal dress)
Foreign applicants: maintenance-scholarship/funding letter and valid passport
All documents merged into one PDF named with the applicant's name in capitals
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
UANL's Faculty of Medicine lists a one-year Curso de Alta Especialidad en Cirugía Articular for specialists in orthopaedics and traumatology, taught at its teaching hospital in Monterrey. Admission is through the faculty's annual Alta Especialidad call; the 2026 call has closed.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León (UANL) Faculty of Medicine — Hospital Universitario "Dr. José Eleuterio González"
The Faculty of Medicine catalogue lists this one-year course for orthopaedics and traumatology specialists. Its 2026 Alta Especialidad call identifies Hospital Universitario Dr. José Eleuterio González as the clinical teaching setting; programme-specific intake size, faculty and payment terms are not stated.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Mexico City, Mexico City, Mexico · Not stated on the HGM course page; the ISAKOS directory entry for this hospital states joint surgery runs 1 yearView program profile →
Mexico City, Mexico City, Mexico · Not stated on the HGM course page; the ISAKOS directory entry for this hospital states hip surgery runs 1 yearView program profile →
Centro Médico "Lic. Arturo Montiel Rojas" del ISSEMYM (UNAM Faculty of Medicine academic site)
Toluca, Estado de México, Mexico · 1 year (UNAM Curso de Posgrado de Alta Especialidad en Medicina, course code 2147); current cycle 1 March 2026 – 28 February 2027View program profile →
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy