Home›Hand & Microsurgery›New Zealand
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipActive application
Hand & Microsurgery →

North Shore Hospital Hand Surgery PFET Fellowship

North Shore Hospital / Health New Zealand – Waitematā

⌖ Auckland · New Zealand directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Albert Yoon

Profile completeness100%
Comprehensive · Core fields complete
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Salary is not published; the AHSS application page says salary details must be discussed with each training centre's supervisor. The trainee pays a non-refundable AHSS PFET application fee of $500 and a training programme fee of AUD 1,500 on accepting a place.
Deadline
30 June 2027 (AHSS PFET applications close 30 June each year)
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposurePublic orthopaedic hand unit of seven hand surgeons with 50% trauma and 50% elective work, split evenly between hand and wrist; no paediatric, brachial plexus or microvascular work.
Funding · publishedSalary is not published; the AHSS application page says salary details must be discussed with each training centre's supervisor. The trainee pays a non-refundable AHSS PFET application fee of $500 and a training programme fee of AUD 1,500 on accepting a place.
DestinationNew Zealand
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

The published AHSS PFET rules require Australian citizenship and AHPRA specialist accreditation; the North Shore position page itself does not state New Zealand registration requirements.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

FRACS in Orthopaedic Surgery or Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery before starting PFET, or AMC specialist recognition as an orthopaedic or plastic surgeon · Australian citizenship and AHPRA accreditation to work as a specialist orthopaedic or plastic surgeon in a supervised fellowship position (AHSS PFET rules, section 4.3.1) · RACS SET trainees may apply up to 2 years before the expected end of SET training

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

The AHSS PFET rules require AHPRA accreditation; the North Shore position page does not state Medical Council of New Zealand registration requirements.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Not applicable under the published PFET rules, which require Australian citizenship.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

Salary is not published; the AHSS application page says salary details must be discussed with each training centre's supervisor. The trainee pays a non-refundable AHSS PFET application fee of $500 and a training programme fee of AUD 1,500 on accepting a place.

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

76% of core application fields verified

Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ visa / work authorisation✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · official sources conflict— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · official sources conflict— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— institutional source · source temporarily inaccessible
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadline30 June 2027 (AHSS PFET applications close 30 June each year)
Commencing dateFebruary
Application route / cycleApplications to the AHSS close 30 June each year. The AHSS PFET page says 2026 applications are for posts starting February and August 2029; the full programme rules say applications closing 30 June 2026 are considered for posts starting February 2028 or later. Offers are announced at the end of September.
Official contactAlbert Yoon77.albert@gmail.com

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • FRACS in Orthopaedic Surgery or Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery before starting PFET, or AMC specialist recognition as an orthopaedic or plastic surgeon
  • Australian citizenship and AHPRA accreditation to work as a specialist orthopaedic or plastic surgeon in a supervised fellowship position (AHSS PFET rules, section 4.3.1)
  • RACS SET trainees may apply up to 2 years before the expected end of SET training
Registration, licence & examinations

The AHSS PFET rules require AHPRA accreditation; the North Shore position page does not state Medical Council of New Zealand registration requirements.

Visa / work authorisation

Not applicable under the published PFET rules, which require Australian citizenship.

Application documents
  • Covering letter explaining why you want to undertake PFET and your areas of interest
  • CV
  • Surgical logbook with a separate hand-surgery logbook
  • Evidence of a microsurgery course and/or AO hand fracture course if completed
  • Three written references
  • Completed AHSS application form with ranked fellowship-position preferences
  • Overseas fellowship appointment letter, if arranged

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

Twelve-month AHSS PFET orthopaedic hand fellowship at North Shore Hospital, Auckland; the unit also runs a prospective review of thumb CMC joint replacement.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Part of the RACS-accredited AHSS hand-surgery PFET programme: six-monthly supervisor assessments, logbook review, a research project, and a monthly PFET journal club (February–November, via Zoom) with an expert panel.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Listed program lead

AYInstitution associated with Albert Yoon

Program lead: Albert Yoon

PFET supervisorOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
North Shore Hospital, Auckland
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Albert Yoon is listed in the cited programme evidence as pfet supervisor for North Shore Hospital Hand Surgery PFET Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Albert Yoon is listed by the official programme source as pfet supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

The published AHSS PFET rules require Australian citizenship and AHPRA specialist accreditation; the North Shore position page itself does not state New Zealand registration requirements.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy