✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Funded by SICOT and AO Hospital: travel reimbursement up to EUR 1,000, accommodation, hospital food and a car
Deadline
Not published
Duration
6 weeks–3 months
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published6 weeks–3 months
Clinical exposureSports surgery and knee arthroplasty, with possible exposure to trauma, tumour, spine, paediatric orthopaedics and other hospital subspecialties
Funding · publishedFunded by SICOT and AO Hospital: travel reimbursement up to EUR 1,000, accommodation, hospital food and a car
DestinationPakistan
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
SICOT dues paid for the application year and preceding year · Age 45 or under at fellowship commencement · At least three years of specialised orthopaedic training · Health insurance and recent medical clearance · Preference for international applicants and prior SICOT Congress attendance
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
Fluent English is required; Urdu is beneficial. Documentary proof of English level is part of the application.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Funded by SICOT and AO Hospital: travel reimbursement up to EUR 1,000, accommodation, hospital food and a car
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ language✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— international eligibility · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · queued for source review— Faculty information requires reverification · queued for source review— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateJanuary or July
Application route / cycleCurrent call is closed; two training intakes are scheduled annually
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
SICOT dues paid for the application year and preceding year
Age 45 or under at fellowship commencement
At least three years of specialised orthopaedic training
Health insurance and recent medical clearance
Preference for international applicants and prior SICOT Congress attendance
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Passport or birth-certificate copy
Current CV with logbook, achievements, experience and fields of interest
Two recommendation letters, including one from the current Head of Department dated within six months
Proof of English level
Motivation letter
Recent medical check-up and vaccination results
Orthopaedic degree
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A fully supported short fellowship in sports surgery and knee arthroplasty at Karachi's AO Hospital, with accommodation, meals, local transport and up to EUR 1,000 of eligible travel reimbursed. The programme publishes unusually complete application requirements and twice-yearly commencement dates.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
AO Hospital assists with travel and accommodation arrangements and provides hospital meals and local transport during the fellowship.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation costs are covered by AO Hospital; applicants should confirm the property, dates and inclusions after selection.
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About AO Hospital Private Ltd
AO Hospital is a 110-bed orthopaedic-only hospital established in 1984. It treats major trauma and elective orthopaedics and maintains sports, arthroplasty, tumour, spine, paediatric and research services.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
AO Hospital was established by Dr SMA Shah in 1984; SICOT now publishes the fellowship as a recurring two-place programme.
APPLICANT PROFILE
International SICOT members aged 45 or under with at least three years of specialised orthopaedic training
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
Fluent English is required; Urdu is beneficial. Documentary proof of English level is part of the application.
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.