Well sourced · Missing funding, application deadline, commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
20 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureAll areas of knee surgery and research, including primary and revision arthroplasty, robotics, arthroscopy, sports reconstruction, major ligament injury and periarticular trauma; usually two theatre days, two clinic days and one research day each week
Funding · not publishedPrivate internal support is indicated; the amount, stipend and expense coverage are not published
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Private internal support is indicated; the amount, stipend and expense coverage are not published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
59% of core application fields verified
Checked 20 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-16. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ application process✓ required documents✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— commencement / intake · queued for source review— benefits · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source— institutional source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect application to the centre; the directory does not publish a current deadline or confirmed next commencement date
Official contactLionel Jeyaraj, Fellowship Coordinator
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Detailed current curriculum vitae
Two written references
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Sydney Orthopaedic Research Institute
SORI's centre-supplied fellowship profile combines high-volume clinical knee training with weekly clinical and scientific meetings, teaching duties and at least one research project suitable for international presentation and publication.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Orthopaedic knee surgeon and SORI faculty
Affiliation
Sydney Orthopaedic Research Institute
Clinical focus
Knee preservation, alignment, ligament, meniscal and arthroplasty surgery
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
David Parker is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for SORI Orthopaedic Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Knee preservation, alignment, ligament, meniscal and arthroplasty surgery. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
SORI lists Dr Parker among its senior knee surgeons and fellowship faculty. The institute's observership follows the full knee-care pathway from consultation and investigation through surgery and follow-up.
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Sydney Orthopaedic Research Institute
Clinical focus
Research training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Myles Coolican is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for SORI Orthopaedic Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Myles Coolican is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
BF
Faculty: Brett Fritsch
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Sydney Orthopaedic Research Institute
Clinical focus
Research training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Brett Fritsch is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for SORI Orthopaedic Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Brett Fritsch is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
AN
Faculty: Alex Nicholls
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Sydney Orthopaedic Research Institute
Clinical focus
Research training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Alex Nicholls is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for SORI Orthopaedic Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Alex Nicholls is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
JS
Faculty: Jobe Shatrov
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Sydney Orthopaedic Research Institute
Clinical focus
Research training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jobe Shatrov is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for SORI Orthopaedic Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jobe Shatrov is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Surgeons with home-country experience or candidates with a relevant MD, PhD or equivalent research experience