Well sourced · Missing funding, official contact, faculty profile
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Not published
Deadline
The official 2027 page is published, but its application deadline was not machine-readable during this audit
Duration
2026 cycle: 2 weeks (1–12 June 2026); 2027 duration not yet verified
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
15 Aug 2026
Duration · published2026 cycle: 2 weeks (1–12 June 2026); 2027 duration not yet verified
Clinical exposurePreclinical musculoskeletal methods, translational research, proposal development, expert feedback and networking in AO Research Institute Davos laboratories
Funding · not published2026 cycle: AO provided housing and APOA covered international travel, visa costs and daily living expenses up to CHF 1,500; 2027 support is not yet verified
DestinationSwitzerland
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
The 2026 call included APOA/APORS applicants, including potentially eligible Indonesian members who met its activity and AO-membership rules. The 2027 international route is not yet verified.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Surgeon or surgeon in training younger than 45 · Specialisation in trauma, orthopaedics, spine or a related field · Strong interest in research · At least 3,000 APOA XP activity points · APOA/APORS membership · Membership of an AO clinical division
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
2026 cycle: AO provided housing and APOA covered international travel, visa costs and daily living expenses up to CHF 1,500; 2027 support is not yet verified
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
66% of core application fields verified
Checked 15 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-11. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— official contact · queued for source review— Faculty information requires reverification · queued for source review— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— institutional source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineThe official 2027 page is published, but its application deadline was not machine-readable during this audit
Commencing date2027 placement dates not yet verified; historical 2026 placement ran 1–12 June 2026
Application route / cycleOfficial AO page for the 2027 ARI–APOA Research Fellowship is published; opening and closing dates remain to be confirmed from readable official content
Official contactNo programme-specific contact published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Surgeon or surgeon in training younger than 45
Specialisation in trauma, orthopaedics, spine or a related field
Strong interest in research
At least 3,000 APOA XP activity points
APOA/APORS membership
Membership of an AO clinical division
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A jointly sponsored Asia-Pacific research pathway at AO Research Institute Davos. AO now publishes a dedicated 2027 page, but the current audit could not reliably extract its dates, positions, support or eligibility; the verified 2026 facts are retained as clearly labelled history rather than rolled forward.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Housing in Davos is provided by AO for selected fellows.
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About AO Research Institute Davos / Asia Pacific Orthopaedic Association
AO Research Institute Davos is AO's preclinical and translational musculoskeletal research centre. This jointly sponsored pathway connects its laboratories with APOA and APORS clinician-scientists.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The inaugural 2026 call closed on 3 November 2025 and the fellowship ran at AO Research Institute Davos from 1–12 June 2026. Its published support and eligibility remain historical until AO confirms the 2027 terms.
APPLICANT PROFILE
2026 eligibility covered surgeons or surgeons in training under 45 from APOA member countries in trauma, orthopaedics, spine or related fields; 2027 eligibility must be reconfirmed
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
The 2026 call included APOA/APORS applicants, including potentially eligible Indonesian members who met its activity and AO-membership rules. The 2027 international route is not yet verified.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.