Faculty / program leadership: Edward G. McFarland and Uma Srikumaran
Profile completeness66%
Well sourced · Missing application deadline, entry requirements, faculty profile
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
No financial support or housing provided
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months; second year possible for qualified applicants
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
15 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months; second year possible for qualified applicants
Clinical exposureShoulder clinical research, surgery and clinic observation, conferences, manuscripts and selected basic science
Funding · publishedNo financial support or housing provided
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
No special licence is required and Johns Hopkins states that it will assist with the visa
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
No financial support or housing provided
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
59% of core application fields verified
Checked 15 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-11. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ international eligibility✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ verification date— positions · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not applicable to this pathway— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · not published by the cited official source— institutional source · queued for source review— accreditation / organisation source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing date1 August; 12-month appointment
Application route / cycleContact the Johns Hopkins Shoulder and Elbow Surgery division; no application form or deadline is published
Official contactDivision of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery+1 410 583 2850
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Johns Hopkins Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
A detailed institutional profile has not yet been published by OrthoFellow for this listing. Use the official host or program link to review the hospital, university, training sites and facilities directly.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Johns Hopkins Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Clinical focus
Research training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Edward G. McFarland is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for Shoulder Clinical Observership and Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Edward G. McFarland is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Uma Srikumaran is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Shoulder Clinical Observership and Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Uma Srikumaran is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Physicians and researchers pursuing shoulder, sports medicine and arthroplasty research
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
No special licence is required and Johns Hopkins states that it will assist with the visa
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.