Faculty / program leadership: Benjamin Chang · Ines Lin +2 more
Profile completeness68%
Well sourced · Missing funding, application deadline, official contact
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
20 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureCongenital upper-limb differences, paediatric hand trauma and clinical outcomes research
Funding · not publishedModest stipend toward living expenses plus some travel support for national podium presentations; exact amounts are not published
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Normally completing the third year of medical school in the United States · USMLE Step 1 completed · Good academic standing · Interest in plastic or orthopaedic surgery · Two recommendation letters, including one from a plastic or orthopaedic surgeon
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Modest stipend toward living expenses plus some travel support for national podium presentations; exact amounts are not published
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
52% of core application fields verified
Checked 20 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-16. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not applicable to this pathway— visa / work authorisation · not applicable to this pathway— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · not published by the cited official source— official contact · queued for source review— institutional source · queued for source review— accreditation / organisation source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateFiscal-year appointment from 1 July to 30 June; the next available intake is not published
Application route / cycleClosed — CHOP states that applications are not being accepted at this time; the next cycle is not confirmed
Official contactNo programme-specific contact published
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Normally completing the third year of medical school in the United States
USMLE Step 1 completed
Good academic standing
Interest in plastic or orthopaedic surgery
Two recommendation letters, including one from a plastic or orthopaedic surgeon
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia in Philadelphia, United States is the published host setting for this pathway. The cited programme record describes congenital upper-limb differences, paediatric hand trauma and clinical outcomes research.
Programme lead / named supervisorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Clinical focus
Research
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Benjamin Chang is listed in the cited programme evidence as programme lead / named supervisor for Hand Surgery Clinical Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Benjamin Chang is listed by the official programme source as programme lead / named supervisor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Named programme facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Clinical focus
Research
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Ines Lin is listed in the cited programme evidence as named programme faculty for Hand Surgery Clinical Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ines Lin is listed by the official programme source as named programme faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Named programme facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Clinical focus
Research
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Apurva Shah is listed in the cited programme evidence as named programme faculty for Hand Surgery Clinical Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Apurva Shah is listed by the official programme source as named programme faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Named programme facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Clinical focus
Research
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Robert Carrigan is listed in the cited programme evidence as named programme faculty for Hand Surgery Clinical Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Robert Carrigan is listed by the official programme source as named programme faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Medical students pursuing U.S. residency in plastic or orthopaedic surgery