NHS senior clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.
Deadline
The published recruitment closed 16 April 2026.
Duration
6 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
2026-10-01
Duration · published6 months
Clinical exposureElective and traumatic knee conditions with clinical fellowship exposure and research opportunities through the Academic Department of Orthopaedics at the University of Warwick.
Funding · publishedNHS senior clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.
DestinationUnited Kingdom
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Indonesian applicants should confirm GMC registration route, FRCS/equivalence expectations, English-language evidence, visa sponsorship and whether the post is suitable for overseas-trained surgeons before applying.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Orthopaedic specialist training programme equivalent status to UK year 6 trainee or above
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Clinical appointment requires GMC registration and University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire credentialing.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
English-language and communication requirements are handled through GMC registration and the employing NHS trust; confirm any IELTS/OET route directly with the host.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
UK right-to-work and, where needed, Skilled Worker sponsorship are employer- and applicant-specific; confirm with the recruiting NHS trust before applying.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
NHS senior clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
69% of core application fields verified
Checked 2026-10-01. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ institutional source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · historical evidence only— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source— Official programme page requires reverification · historical evidence only— accreditation / organisation source · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineThe published recruitment closed 16 April 2026.
Commencing dateFebruary 2027 or August 2027 in the published advert
Application route / cycleClosed NHS Jobs advert retained for future-cycle planning; monitor UHCW/NHS Jobs for the next knee fellowship call.
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Orthopaedic specialist training programme equivalent status to UK year 6 trainee or above
Registration, licence & examinations
Clinical appointment requires GMC registration and University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire credentialing.
Visa / work authorisation
UK right-to-work and, where needed, Skilled Worker sponsorship are employer- and applicant-specific; confirm with the recruiting NHS trust before applying.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A senior clinical knee fellowship at Coventry covering elective and traumatic knee surgery. The source is a closed 2026 advert for 2027 starts, so current availability needs a new vacancy.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
The advert publishes a salaried full-time NHS appointment and access to learning and development; programme-specific accommodation or relocation terms are not stated.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: The advert publishes a salaried full-time NHS appointment and access to learning and development; programme-specific accommodation or relocation terms are not stated.
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust
The fellowship is based at University Hospital Coventry and Rugby St Cross Hospital with named knee supervisors and Warwick academic links.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Peter Thompson is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for Coventry Senior Clinical Fellowship in Knee Surgery. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Peter Thompson is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
AM
Faculty: Andrew Metcalfe
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Andrew Metcalfe is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Coventry Senior Clinical Fellowship in Knee Surgery. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Andrew Metcalfe is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
FS
Faculty: Feisal Shah
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Feisal Shah is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Coventry Senior Clinical Fellowship in Knee Surgery. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Feisal Shah is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
NS
Faculty: Nick Smith
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Nick Smith is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Coventry Senior Clinical Fellowship in Knee Surgery. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Nick Smith is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The named NHS Jobs advert was reviewed on 1 October 2026 for employment benefits, application documents, contact details, accommodation and accreditation evidence. Published facts were added; absent fields received an explicit editorial disposition. The vacancy dates remain historical where the advert is closed.
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
English-language and communication requirements are handled through GMC registration and the employing NHS trust; confirm any IELTS/OET route directly with the host.
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Indonesian applicants should confirm GMC registration route, FRCS/equivalence expectations, English-language evidence, visa sponsorship and whether the post is suitable for overseas-trained surgeons before applying.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.