NHS clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.
Deadline
The published 2026 recruitment closed 28 April 2026.
Duration
6 months, with RCS-accredited complex spinal fellowship option described in the advert
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
2026-10-01
Duration · published6 months, with RCS-accredited complex spinal fellowship option described in the advert
Clinical exposureOrthopaedic spinal surgery at Southmead Hospital, with opportunities to work with neurosurgery during the fellowship and exposure to a regional major trauma and neurosciences centre.
Funding · publishedNHS clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.
DestinationUnited Kingdom
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Indonesian applicants should confirm GMC registration route, FRCS/equivalence expectations, English-language evidence, visa sponsorship and whether the post is suitable for overseas-trained surgeons before applying.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Post-CCT neurosurgical or orthopaedic surgeon · Commitment to spinal surgery · Meet North Bristol NHS Trust person specification
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Clinical appointment requires GMC registration and North Bristol NHS Trust credentialing.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
English-language and communication requirements are handled through GMC registration and the employing NHS trust; confirm any IELTS/OET route directly with the host.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
UK right-to-work and, where needed, Skilled Worker sponsorship are employer- and applicant-specific; confirm with the recruiting NHS trust before applying.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
NHS clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
72% of core application fields verified
Checked 2026-10-01. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · historical evidence only— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source— Official programme page requires reverification · historical evidence only
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineThe published 2026 recruitment closed 28 April 2026.
Commencing datePublished 2026 recruitment; exact future start dates require a new advert
Application route / cycleClosed NHS Jobs advert retained for programme evidence; monitor NHS Jobs/North Bristol for the next spinal fellowship vacancy.
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Post-CCT neurosurgical or orthopaedic surgeon
Commitment to spinal surgery
Meet North Bristol NHS Trust person specification
Registration, licence & examinations
Clinical appointment requires GMC registration and North Bristol NHS Trust credentialing.
Visa / work authorisation
UK right-to-work and, where needed, Skilled Worker sponsorship are employer- and applicant-specific; confirm with the recruiting NHS trust before applying.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A North Bristol spinal surgery fellowship advertised in 2026 with both senior fellow and RCS-accredited complex spinal surgery language. Current availability is unconfirmed after the closing date.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
The advert publishes a salaried fixed-term NHS appointment; programme-specific relocation or accommodation support is not stated.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: The advert publishes a salaried fixed-term NHS appointment; programme-specific relocation or accommodation support is not stated.
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Southmead Hospital, North Bristol NHS Trust
Southmead Hospital is a regional centre for major trauma and neurosciences, with a dedicated spinal surgery service.
Program lead: North Bristol spinal surgery faculty
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Southmead Hospital, North Bristol NHS Trust
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
North Bristol spinal surgery faculty is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for North Bristol Spinal Surgery Senior Clinical Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
North Bristol spinal surgery faculty is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The named NHS Jobs advert was reviewed on 1 October 2026 for employment benefits, application documents, contact details, accommodation and accreditation evidence. Published facts were added; absent fields received an explicit editorial disposition. The vacancy dates remain historical where the advert is closed.
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
English-language and communication requirements are handled through GMC registration and the employing NHS trust; confirm any IELTS/OET route directly with the host.
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Indonesian applicants should confirm GMC registration route, FRCS/equivalence expectations, English-language evidence, visa sponsorship and whether the post is suitable for overseas-trained surgeons before applying.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.