Clinical exposureAll conditions of the cervical, thoracic and lumbar spine — degenerative and deformity, trauma and tumour, paediatric and adult — training with spine surgeons from both orthopaedic and neurological surgery, mostly at NewYork-Presbyterian Och Spine Hospital
Funding · not publishedNot published in the reviewed sources
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed an accredited residency in orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery · Board-eligible
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published in the reviewed sources
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
66% of core application fields verified
Checked 1 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateAugust 2028 for the current NASS/SF Match cycle
Application route / cycleThe programme participates in the NASS match through SF Match. 2026–2027 NASS Spine Fellowship Match through SF Match: applicant registration opened 3 August 2026, interviews run 30 November 2026–19 March 2027 and rank lists are due 6 April 2027. Deadlines are set by each programme.
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed an accredited residency in orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery
Board-eligible
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A four-fellow, one-year comprehensive spine fellowship at Columbia and NewYork-Presbyterian covering adult and paediatric degenerative, deformity, trauma and tumour surgery, matched through NASS and SF Match.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Columbia University Irving Medical Center / NewYork-Presbyterian Och Spine Hospital
Fellows spend most of their time at NewYork-Presbyterian Och Spine Hospital and train with spine surgeons from Columbia's orthopaedic and neurosurgery departments across adult and paediatric spine care.
Ronald A. Lehman is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director for Columbia Adult and Pediatric Comprehensive Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ronald A. Lehman is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Lawrence G. Lenke is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director for Columbia Adult and Pediatric Comprehensive Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Lawrence G. Lenke is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Board-eligible graduates of accredited orthopaedic-surgery or neurosurgery residencies