Home›Spine›United States
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Spine →

Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital)

Corewell Health East, William Beaumont University Hospital, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery (Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine)

⌖ Royal Oak · United States directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Jad G. Khalil

Profile completeness100%
Comprehensive · Core fields complete
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
NASS: annual stipend $72,945 plus benefits. Corewell GME 2026–27 salary table by programme year: PGY-1 $69,430 to PGY-8 $94,087, plus education fund ($800–$1,200) and $1,800 meal allowance; the page does not state which PGY level the spine fellow is paid at.
Deadline
Not yet published ('Deadline for applications is: date will be updated soon'; interview dates 'will be updated soon').
Duration
One year.
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedOne year.
Clinical exposureAdult and paediatric spine care across deformity, disc replacement, degenerative disease, tumours, trauma and arthritis, with special emphasis on minimally invasive surgery (tubular, endoscopic, OLIF/XLIF), artificial disc replacement, navigation and robotics; anterior, lateral and prone lateral approaches. Eight spine-focused attendings; outpatient clinic at the Orthopedic Institute; fellows take home call for a Level I trauma centre. NASS: 75% operative / 25% non-operative; lumbar 60%, cervical 25%, thoracic 15%; degenerative 45%, deformity 20%, trauma 15%, tumour 10%, paediatric 10%. At least one research project required.
Funding · publishedNASS: annual stipend $72,945 plus benefits. Corewell GME 2026–27 salary table by programme year: PGY-1 $69,430 to PGY-8 $94,087, plus education fund ($800–$1,200) and $1,800 meal allowance; the page does not state which PGY level the spine fellow is paid at.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

Corewell Health East sponsors J-1 visas only (GME applicant information). No programme-specific eligibility criteria for internationally trained surgeons are published.

—Not published

Required training level

Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

All residents and fellows must be licensed to practise medicine by the State of Michigan before training begins (initial licensure requires training in human trafficking, implicit bias and opioid awareness, fingerprinting and a background check); advanced residents and fellows may apply for a full Michigan medical licence, controlled-substance licence and federal DEA number. BLS (and ACLS/ATLS/PALS as applicable) certification required.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Corewell Health East sponsors J-1 visas only.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

NASS: annual stipend $72,945 plus benefits. Corewell GME 2026–27 salary table by programme year: PGY-1 $69,430 to PGY-8 $94,087, plus education fund ($800–$1,200) and $1,800 meal allowance; the page does not state which PGY level the spine fellow is paid at.

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

69% of core application fields verified

Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ benefits✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ application portal✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Funding information not published · official sources conflict— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— official contact · official sources conflict— Faculty information requires reverification · official sources conflict— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNot yet published ('Deadline for applications is: date will be updated soon'; interview dates 'will be updated soon').
Commencing dateAugust 1 (NASS: 'August 1 to July 31'); not stated on the programme page.
Application route / cycleSan Francisco Match (SF Match code 4369).
Official contactElizabeth Marentette (Program manager); Michela Di Cicco (Program manager)elizabeth.marentette@corewellhealth.org; michela.dicicco@corewellhealth.org248-551-1852 (Marentette); 248-551-3140 (Di Cicco)

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility

Not published by the cited official source.

Registration, licence & examinations

All residents and fellows must be licensed to practise medicine by the State of Michigan before training begins (initial licensure requires training in human trafficking, implicit bias and opioid awareness, fingerprinting and a background check); advanced residents and fellows may apply for a full Michigan medical licence, controlled-substance licence and federal DEA number. BLS (and ACLS/ATLS/PALS as applicable) certification required.

Visa / work authorisation

Corewell Health East sponsors J-1 visas only.

Application documents

CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A one-year, two-position ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery of the spine fellowship with strong minimally invasive, disc replacement, navigation and robotic exposure, a required research project and Level I trauma call, matched through SF Match.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

One week of educational leave with hospital and departmental financial support to attend national meetings/courses; financial support for equipment (loupes, lead apron, textbooks); department supports attendance at one national meeting (AAOS, CSRS, NASS, SRS or ISSLS if in the US). Corewell GME benefits are effective on the date of hire.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

10 listed faculty members

JGInstitution associated with Jad G. Khalil

Program lead: Jad G. Khalil

Fellowship DirectorOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Jad G. Khalil is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Jad G. Khalil is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
JSInstitution associated with Jeffrey S. Fischgrund

Faculty: Jeffrey S. Fischgrund

Chair, Department of Orthopedic SurgeryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Jeffrey S. Fischgrund is listed in the cited programme evidence as chair, department of orthopedic surgery for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Jeffrey S. Fischgrund is listed by the official programme source as chair, department of orthopedic surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
LTInstitution associated with Lawrence T. Kurz

Faculty: Lawrence T. Kurz

SurgeonOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Lawrence T. Kurz is listed in the cited programme evidence as surgeon for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Lawrence T. Kurz is listed by the official programme source as surgeon. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
MEInstitution associated with Mark E. Jacobson

Faculty: Mark E. Jacobson

SurgeonOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Mark E. Jacobson is listed in the cited programme evidence as surgeon for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Mark E. Jacobson is listed by the official programme source as surgeon. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
CGInstitution associated with Christopher G. Minnock

Faculty: Christopher G. Minnock

SurgeonOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Christopher G. Minnock is listed in the cited programme evidence as surgeon for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Christopher G. Minnock is listed by the official programme source as surgeon. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
KIInstitution associated with Khalid I. Odeh

Faculty: Khalid I. Odeh

SurgeonOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Khalid I. Odeh is listed in the cited programme evidence as surgeon for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Khalid I. Odeh is listed by the official programme source as surgeon. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
RJInstitution associated with Ryan J. Berger

Faculty: Ryan J. Berger

Surgeon (programme page only)Official program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Ryan J. Berger is listed in the cited programme evidence as surgeon (programme page only) for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Ryan J. Berger is listed by the official programme source as surgeon (programme page only). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
SLInstitution associated with Samuel L. Rosenbaum

Faculty: Samuel L. Rosenbaum

Surgeon (programme page only)Official program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital, Royal Oak
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Samuel L. Rosenbaum is listed in the cited programme evidence as surgeon (programme page only) for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Samuel L. Rosenbaum is listed by the official programme source as surgeon (programme page only). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
DKInstitution associated with Daniel K. Park

Faculty: Daniel K. Park

Staff surgeon (NASS only)Official program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Daniel K. Park is listed in the cited programme evidence as staff surgeon (nass only) for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Daniel K. Park is listed by the official programme source as staff surgeon (nass only). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

JSInstitution associated with Jeffrey Settecerri

Faculty: Jeffrey Settecerri

Staff surgeon (NASS only)Official program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Corewell Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Jeffrey Settecerri is listed in the cited programme evidence as staff surgeon (nass only) for Orthopedic Spine Surgery Fellowship at Royal Oak (Corewell Health William Beaumont University Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Jeffrey Settecerri is listed by the official programme source as staff surgeon (nass only). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

Corewell Health East sponsors J-1 visas only (GME applicant information). No programme-specific eligibility criteria for internationally trained surgeons are published.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy