Clinical exposureAbout 40% operative, 40% non-operative and 20% research time: two clinic days and two operating days a week with one research day, mostly lumbar (60%) and degenerative (60%) cases plus deformity, paediatric, trauma and tumour exposure, no scheduled night or weekend call, weekly core lectures, monthly journal club and at least two publishable research projects. The directory's case volume (900–1,000 spine cases) refers to 2012
Funding · not publishedUS$60,000 a year
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
US$60,000 a year
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · queued for source review— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— institutional source · source temporarily inaccessible
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleHoag appears in the NASS Spine Fellowship Directory, which runs the spine match through SF Match. 2026–2027 NASS Spine Fellowship Match through SF Match: applicant registration opened 3 August 2026, interviews run 30 November 2026–19 March 2027 and rank lists are due 6 April 2027. Deadlines are set by each programme.
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-position spine fellowship at Hoag Orthopedic Institute in Irvine with a US$60,000 salary and benefits, an even operative and non-operative split and no scheduled call, listed in the NASS spine fellowship directory.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Health, malpractice and workers' compensation insurance
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Hoag Orthopedic Institute
Hoag Orthopedic Institute is an Orange County orthopaedic specialty hospital with two surgery centres and about 40 orthopaedic surgeons; spine is one of its three fellowships, with total joint and sports.
Jeremy S. Smith is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for Hoag Orthopedic Institute Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jeremy S. Smith is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Spine surgery fellowship applicants through the NASS/SF Match spine match