Programme page: stipend 'above a PGY 6 salary'. NASS: stipend 'commensurate with a PGY 6 salary'. No dollar amount published.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
One year (NASS directory: 'a one-year experience'); the programme page does not state duration.
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedOne year (NASS directory: 'a one-year experience'); the programme page does not state duration.
Clinical exposurePrivate practice of eighteen spine surgeons and nine interventional pain physicians with a dedicated spine office, outpatient surgery centre (North Meridian Surgery Center) and inpatient hospital (Indiana Spine Hospital), plus several Indianapolis tertiary hospitals. NASS lists 70% operative / 30% non-operative care; regions lumbar 40%, cervical 40%, thoracic 20%; degenerative 60%, deformity 20%, trauma 10%, tumour 5%, paediatric 5%. Fellow assists in adult spine education of the Indiana University orthopaedic residency and has exposure to FDA IDE trials and O-Arm 3D navigation.
Funding · publishedProgramme page: stipend 'above a PGY 6 salary'. NASS: stipend 'commensurate with a PGY 6 salary'. No dollar amount published.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
NASS describes the fellowship as for graduates of a US orthopaedic or neurosurgical residency; no pathway for internationally trained surgeons is published.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Graduate of a US orthopaedic or neurosurgical residency program (NASS directory: 'an exceptional graduate of a US orthopaedic or neurosurgical residency program').
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not published.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Programme page: stipend 'above a PGY 6 salary'. NASS: stipend 'commensurate with a PGY 6 salary'. No dollar amount published.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · official sources conflict— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application process · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Graduate of a US orthopaedic or neurosurgical residency program (NASS directory: 'an exceptional graduate of a US orthopaedic or neurosurgical residency program').
Registration, licence & examinations
Not published.
Visa / work authorisation
Not published.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year spine fellowship combining private-practice volume with academic teaching, covering revision, deformity, cervical and minimally invasive surgery across ISG's surgery centre, Indiana Spine Hospital and Indianapolis tertiary hospitals.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Malpractice insurance and health insurance for the fellow and family (programme page and NASS).
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Indiana Spine Group
Indiana Spine Group is an Indianapolis private spine practice of eighteen spine surgeons and nine interventional pain physicians, with clinical professorships at Indiana University.
Paul Kraemer is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for Indiana Spine Group Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Paul Kraemer is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Indiana Spine Group / Indiana University School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Rick C. Sasso is listed in the cited programme evidence as core fellowship faculty; president, indiana spine group for Indiana Spine Group Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Rick C. Sasso is listed by the official programme source as core fellowship faculty; president, indiana spine group. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Joseph D. Smucker is listed in the cited programme evidence as core fellowship faculty for Indiana Spine Group Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Joseph D. Smucker is listed by the official programme source as core fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Barrett S. Boody is listed in the cited programme evidence as core fellowship faculty for Indiana Spine Group Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Barrett S. Boody is listed by the official programme source as core fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Michael H. McCarthy is listed in the cited programme evidence as core fellowship faculty for Indiana Spine Group Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Michael H. McCarthy is listed by the official programme source as core fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Jeffrey A. Konopka is listed in the cited programme evidence as core fellowship faculty for Indiana Spine Group Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jeffrey A. Konopka is listed by the official programme source as core fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Daniel L. Kim is listed in the cited programme evidence as core fellowship faculty (neurosurgery) for Indiana Spine Group Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Daniel L. Kim is listed by the official programme source as core fellowship faculty (neurosurgery). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
NASS describes the fellowship as for graduates of a US orthopaedic or neurosurgical residency; no pathway for internationally trained surgeons is published.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.