NASS: salary expected to be $99,000 per year plus a moving stipend. Not stated on the MGB programme page.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
1 year (NASS: 'The duration of our fellowship is 1 year'). Not stated on the MGB programme page.
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year (NASS: 'The duration of our fellowship is 1 year'). Not stated on the MGB programme page.
Clinical exposureFellows rotate through MGH and BWH campuses and affiliated hospitals, in the operating room and clinic, treating degenerative adult spine conditions, spinal deformity, acute spine trauma and spinal tumours, and interact with the neurosurgical service at both campuses. NASS: 70% operative / 30% non-operative; lumbar 50%, cervical 30%, thoracic 20%; degenerative 50%, trauma 15%, deformity 15%, tumour 10%, paediatric 5%, other 5%. Fellows conduct original research and teach residents and medical students.
Funding · publishedNASS: salary expected to be $99,000 per year plus a moving stipend. Not stated on the MGB programme page.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Not published.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not published.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
NASS: salary expected to be $99,000 per year plus a moving stipend. Not stated on the MGB programme page.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ application process✓ application portal✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— official contact · official sources conflict— Faculty information requires reverification · official sources conflict
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleSan Francisco Matching Program (SF Match).
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
Not published.
Visa / work authorisation
Not published.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year, four-fellow combined Harvard orthopaedic spine fellowship rotating between MGH and BWH, covering degenerative, deformity, trauma and tumour surgery with a defined research programme, recruited through SF Match.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
NASS: benefits including family health insurance.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Mass General Brigham: Massachusetts General Hospital and Brigham and Women's Hospital (Harvard Medical School)
Mass General Brigham is the Harvard-affiliated health system that includes Massachusetts General Hospital and Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston.
Director, Spine Surgery Fellowship; MGH facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Harold A. Fogel is listed in the cited programme evidence as director, spine surgery fellowship; mgh faculty for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Harold A. Fogel is listed by the official programme source as director, spine surgery fellowship; mgh faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Brigham and Women's Hospital Site Director (NASS); Lecturer on Orthopedic Surgery, HMSOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Melvin C. Makhni is listed in the cited programme evidence as brigham and women's hospital site director (nass); lecturer on orthopedic surgery, hms for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Melvin C. Makhni is listed by the official programme source as brigham and women's hospital site director (nass); lecturer on orthopedic surgery, hms. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Massachusetts General Hospital Site Director (NASS); Chief, Orthopedic Spine ServiceOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Stuart H. Hershman is listed in the cited programme evidence as massachusetts general hospital site director (nass); chief, orthopedic spine service for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Stuart H. Hershman is listed by the official programme source as massachusetts general hospital site director (nass); chief, orthopedic spine service. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Christopher M. Bono is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (mgh); executive vice chair, orthopedics for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Christopher M. Bono is listed by the official programme source as faculty (mgh); executive vice chair, orthopedics. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Patawut (Pat) Bovonratwet is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (mgh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Patawut (Pat) Bovonratwet is listed by the official programme source as faculty (mgh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Harry Lightsey is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (mgh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Harry Lightsey is listed by the official programme source as faculty (mgh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Daniel Tobert is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (mgh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Daniel Tobert is listed by the official programme source as faculty (mgh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Patrick K. Cronin is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (bwh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Patrick K. Cronin is listed by the official programme source as faculty (bwh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Marco L. Ferrone is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (bwh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Marco L. Ferrone is listed by the official programme source as faculty (bwh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
James D. Kang is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (bwh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
James D. Kang is listed by the official programme source as faculty (bwh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Shaina A. Lipa is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (bwh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Shaina A. Lipa is listed by the official programme source as faculty (bwh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Brendan Striano is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (bwh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Brendan Striano is listed by the official programme source as faculty (bwh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mass General Brigham (Massachusetts General Hospital / Brigham and Women's Hospital)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jay M. Zampini is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (bwh) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jay M. Zampini is listed by the official programme source as faculty (bwh). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Andrew J. Schoenfeld is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (bwh, per nass) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Andrew J. Schoenfeld is listed by the official programme source as faculty (bwh, per nass). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
SK
Faculty: Saechin Kim
Faculty (MGH, per NASS)Official program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Massachusetts General Hospital
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Saechin Kim is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty (mgh, per nass) for Mass General Brigham Spine Surgery Fellowship (Harvard combined MGH–BWH Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Saechin Kim is listed by the official programme source as faculty (mgh, per nass). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Not published.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.