1 year, with an optional second year focused on research
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
1 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year, with an optional second year focused on research
Clinical exposureOperative and non-operative treatment of bone and soft-tissue tumours, preparing fellows for academic careers caring for patients with cancer; the optional second year is mainly sarcoma-genetics and drug-delivery research with about 10% clinical time
Funding · not publishedNot published in the reviewed sources
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Foreign medical graduates with qualifications equivalent to a completed US orthopaedic residency may apply if they have passed all three USMLE steps.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed orthopaedic surgery residency · Board-eligible for the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery · Foreign medical graduates: equivalent qualifications and all three USMLE steps passed
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published in the reviewed sources
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 1 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— Verified institution logo not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleApply through the SF Match Central Application Service with the documents MSK requires; the programme-specific deadline is not stated in the reviewed sources.
Official contactIvan Gerena, BA · Fellowship Coordinator
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed orthopaedic surgery residency
Board-eligible for the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery
Foreign medical graduates: equivalent qualifications and all three USMLE steps passed
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
An ACGME-accredited, three-position orthopaedic-oncology fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering with an optional research year. Applications go through SF Match; foreign medical graduates with equivalent training and all three USMLE steps may apply.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Orthopaedic Service
Memorial Sloan Kettering's Orthopaedic Service has run its musculoskeletal oncology fellowship for more than 25 years and describes it as an ACGME-accredited programme preparing fellows for academic orthopaedic-oncology careers.
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Daniel E. Prince is listed in the cited programme evidence as program director for Memorial Sloan Kettering Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Daniel E. Prince is listed by the official programme source as program director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic surgeons who have completed residency and are Board-eligible, including foreign medical graduates with equivalent qualifications
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Foreign medical graduates with qualifications equivalent to a completed US orthopaedic residency may apply if they have passed all three USMLE steps.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.