Not explicitly stated; NASS refers to 'the course of this academic year' (one academic year).
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedNot explicitly stated; NASS refers to 'the course of this academic year' (one academic year).
Clinical exposureMultidisciplinary integrated spine centre (orthopaedics, neurosurgery, radiology, neurology, anaesthesia, physical therapy); primarily adult elective degenerative and deformity surgery with some tumour, plus heavy on-call exposure to spinal cancer, infection and trauma, using anterior, lateral and posterior MIS and open techniques with robotics and navigation, and exposure to rehab, interventional practice and paediatric deformity. Fellow is hired as a clinical instructor with progressive autonomy, runs the weekly indications conference and supervises residents. NASS lists 70% operative / 25% non-operative / 5% research; lumbar 45%, cervical 35%, thoracic 20%; degenerative 45%, trauma 15%, deformity 20%, tumour 15%, paediatric 5%.
Funding · publishedSalary $68,000 plus benefits (NASS).
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
NASS requires US board eligibility or certification; no international pathway published.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Graduate of a neurosurgery or orthopaedic surgery residency programme who is board eligible or board certified in the US (NASS).
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not published (fellow is hired as a clinical instructor per NASS; licensing requirements not stated).
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Salary $68,000 plus benefits (NASS).
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— application process · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source— institutional source · source temporarily inaccessible
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Graduate of a neurosurgery or orthopaedic surgery residency programme who is board eligible or board certified in the US (NASS).
Registration, licence & examinations
Not published (fellow is hired as a clinical instructor per NASS; licensing requirements not stated).
Visa / work authorisation
Not published.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
One-year multidisciplinary spine surgery fellowship in which the fellow serves as a clinical instructor with progressive autonomy across elective degenerative/deformity and on-call trauma, tumour and infection cases, with an expected publication.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
'Plus benefits' (NASS); no detail published.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC), Department of Orthopaedics and Physical Medicine
The Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, whose Department of Orthopaedics and Physical Medicine runs an integrated spine centre.
Kelley E. Banagan is listed in the cited programme evidence as program director for MUSC Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kelley E. Banagan is listed by the official programme source as program director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
NASS requires US board eligibility or certification; no international pathway published.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.