Applications are accepted from September through March
Duration
1 year
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
1 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year
Clinical exposureComplex spine surgery with major emphasis on minimally invasive techniques and emerging technology, plus pre- and post-operative management; based mainly at North Shore University Hospital with combined training at Lenox Hill Hospital
Funding · not publishedNot published in the reviewed sources
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed neurosurgery or orthopaedic-surgery residency training
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published in the reviewed sources
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 1 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— application portal · not applicable to this pathway— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineApplications are accepted from September through March
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect application to Larry Lo, MD; applications are accepted from September through March.
Official contactSheng-fu Larry Lo, MD · receives fellowship applications
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed neurosurgery or orthopaedic-surgery residency training
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Letter of interest
Curriculum vitae
Letter of recommendation from the residency training program director
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year CAST- and AO Spine-accredited complex-spine fellowship run jointly by Northwell's neurosurgery and orthopaedic departments, with a minimally invasive focus and direct applications accepted September through March.
HOST INSTITUTION
About North Shore University Hospital and Lenox Hill Hospital / Northwell Health
Northwell's neurosurgery and orthopaedic-surgery departments jointly run this CAST- and AO Spine-accredited complex-spine fellowship, centred on North Shore University Hospital with combined training at Lenox Hill Hospital.
Chief of Spine Surgery, Department of Neurosurgery, North Shore University Hospital; receives fellowship applicationsOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Northwell Health / Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Sheng-fu Larry Lo is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief of spine surgery, department of neurosurgery, north shore university hospital; receives fellowship applications for Northwell Independent Clinical Fellowship in Neurosurgery and Orthopedic Spine Surgery. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Sheng-fu Larry Lo is listed by the official programme source as chief of spine surgery, department of neurosurgery, north shore university hospital; receives fellowship applications. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Surgeons who have completed neurosurgery or orthopaedic-surgery residency