$70,000/year (programme page and NASS), plus paid call/moonlighting opportunities (general spine, general orthopaedics, level 1 trauma spine call).
Deadline
NASS: November 1. Not stated on the programme page.
Duration
One year (NASS: 1 year, August 1 to July 30).
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedOne year (NASS: 1 year, August 1 to July 30).
Clinical exposureComprehensive adult spine training under full-time spine surgeons and physiatrists, covering trauma, infection, deformity and degenerative conditions with anterior, posterior and minimally invasive approaches, numerous instrumentation systems and robotic navigation; about 450–500 cases a year, organised as four 3-month rotations across two attending teams, and fellows run a weekly multispecialty spine conference. Sites (NASS): OrthoCarolina Spine Center, Carolinas Medical Center, Novant Health Charlotte Orthopaedic Hospital and Atrium Health Mercy Hospital. NASS lists 75% operative / 25% non-operative; lumbar 60%, cervical 30%, thoracic 10%; degenerative 50%, trauma 10%, deformity 20%, tumour 10%, paediatric 10%.
Funding · published$70,000/year (programme page and NASS), plus paid call/moonlighting opportunities (general spine, general orthopaedics, level 1 trauma spine call).
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Only applicants eligible for US or Canadian board certification are accepted; no other international pathway is published.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Eligible for Board Certification in Orthopaedic Surgery or Neurosurgery · Only physicians eligible for US or Canadian Board Certification are accepted
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not published.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
$70,000/year (programme page and NASS), plus paid call/moonlighting opportunities (general spine, general orthopaedics, level 1 trauma spine call).
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · official sources conflict— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNASS: November 1. Not stated on the programme page.
Commencing dateAugust 1 (NASS).
Application route / cycleSan Francisco Match (sponsored by NASS); see SF Match for guidelines and timeline.
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Eligible for Board Certification in Orthopaedic Surgery or Neurosurgery
Only physicians eligible for US or Canadian Board Certification are accepted
Registration, licence & examinations
Not published.
Visa / work authorisation
Not published.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
One-year private-practice-based adult spine surgery fellowship with roughly 450–500 cases, rotating through four 3-month mentorship blocks, recruited via the SF Match.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Health and dental insurance for fellow and dependents; short- and long-term disability; basic life insurance (2x salary); retirement plan after 90 days; flexible spending accounts; up to three weeks PTO; professional liability coverage with tail; fellowship-funded attendance at four national meetings and one international cadaveric course; AO Spine North America fellows' orientation course, Banff Fellows Forum and complimentary AO Spine membership.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About OrthoCarolina Spine Center (OrthoCarolina, physician-owned orthopaedic practice)
OrthoCarolina is a large physician-owned orthopaedic practice in Charlotte whose Spine Center at 2001 Randolph Road hosts the spine fellowship.
P. Bradley Segebarth is listed in the cited programme evidence as director, orthocarolina spine fellowship program for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
P. Bradley Segebarth is listed by the official programme source as director, orthocarolina spine fellowship program. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
R. Alden Milam is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship faculty for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
R. Alden Milam is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Alfred L. Rhyne is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship faculty for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Alfred L. Rhyne is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Leo R. Spector is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship faculty (orthocarolina ceo) for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Leo R. Spector is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship faculty (orthocarolina ceo). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Anthony J. Kwon is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship faculty for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Anthony J. Kwon is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Spine fellowship faculty (NASS listing)Official program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
OrthoCarolina Spine Center
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Matt Chapman is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship faculty (nass listing) for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Matt Chapman is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship faculty (nass listing). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
David T. Anderson is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship faculty for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
David T. Anderson is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Stephen Barchick is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship faculty for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Stephen Barchick is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Virgenal Lee Owens Jr. is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship faculty for OrthoCarolina Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Virgenal Lee Owens Jr. is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Only applicants eligible for US or Canadian board certification are accepted; no other international pathway is published.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.