Home›Spine›United States
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Spine →

Spine Surgery Fellowship Program (Advanced Clinical Experience in Spine Surgery)

Spine Institute of Arizona

⌖ Scottsdale · United States directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Edward J. Dohring

Profile completeness95%
Comprehensive · Source does not publish application deadline
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Yearly stipend of $65,000 (NASS directory); not stated on programme page.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
One year (August 1 to July 31) per NASS directory; the programme page does not state duration.
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedOne year (August 1 to July 31) per NASS directory; the programme page does not state duration.
Clinical exposurePrivate-practice multidisciplinary fellowship: surgical rotations with four orthopaedic spine surgeons covering minimally invasive, open, deformity and revision surgery, plus non-surgical rotations in pain management, EMG/NCV and chiropractic/physiotherapy. Programme page lists 80% operative / 20% non-operative; lumbar 50%, cervical 35%, thoracic 15%; degenerative 50%, deformity 25%, trauma 15%, pediatric 5%, tumor <5%.
Funding · publishedYearly stipend of $65,000 (NASS directory); not stated on programme page.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

NASS directory states the programme only accepts applicants who are completing a US residency programme.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

Board-eligible/Board-certified by ABOS/AOBOS or ABNS/AOBNS (NASS) · Graduate of an accredited U.S. orthopaedic or neurosurgery residency programme (NASS) · Eligible for an unrestricted Arizona medical licence, malpractice insurance and hospital privileges (NASS) · Only applicants completing a US residency programme are accepted (NASS)

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

Eligibility for an unrestricted Arizona medical licence (NASS directory).

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Not published.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

Yearly stipend of $65,000 (NASS directory); not stated on programme page.

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

76% of core application fields verified

Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ application process✓ official contact✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · source temporarily inaccessible— Faculty information requires reverification · official sources conflict
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateAugust 1 (NASS directory)
Application route / cycleCurrent application cycle requires confirmation
Official contactNot published (NASS lists institutional email addresses only)spineinstituteofaz@msn.com; spine-institute@cox.net(602) 953-9500

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Board-eligible/Board-certified by ABOS/AOBOS or ABNS/AOBNS (NASS)
  • Graduate of an accredited U.S. orthopaedic or neurosurgery residency programme (NASS)
  • Eligible for an unrestricted Arizona medical licence, malpractice insurance and hospital privileges (NASS)
  • Only applicants completing a US residency programme are accepted (NASS)
Registration, licence & examinations

Eligibility for an unrestricted Arizona medical licence (NASS directory).

Visa / work authorisation

Not published.

Application documents

CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A one-year private-practice spine surgery fellowship combining orthopaedic spine surgery with pain management, EMG/NCV and chiropractic/physiotherapy rotations, with teaching on practice management, medical-legal documentation and billing, aimed at preparing fellows for community private practice.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Health insurance and malpractice insurance with tail coverage (NASS directory). Programme page states optional attendance at external spine conferences and courses is encouraged and supported by the Institute.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

7 listed faculty members

EJEdward J. Dohring, fellowship faculty at Spine Institute of Arizona

Program lead: Edward J. Dohring

Fellowship Director (NASS) / Fellowship Co-Director (programme page); Founder & Medical DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Spine Institute of Arizona
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Edward J. Dohring is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director (nass) / fellowship co-director (programme page); founder & medical director for Spine Surgery Fellowship Program (Advanced Clinical Experience in Spine Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Edward J. Dohring is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director (nass) / fellowship co-director (programme page); founder & medical director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
MRMichael R. Conti Mica, fellowship faculty at Spine Institute of Arizona

Faculty: Michael R. Conti Mica

Fellowship Co-Director (programme page); Orthopaedic Spine SurgeonOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Spine Institute of Arizona
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Michael R. Conti Mica is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director (programme page); orthopaedic spine surgeon for Spine Surgery Fellowship Program (Advanced Clinical Experience in Spine Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Michael R. Conti Mica is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director (programme page); orthopaedic spine surgeon. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
PRPaul R. Gause, fellowship faculty at Spine Institute of Arizona

Faculty: Paul R. Gause

Fellowship Co-Director (NASS); Orthopaedic Spine SurgeonOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Spine Institute of Arizona
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Paul R. Gause is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director (nass); orthopaedic spine surgeon for Spine Surgery Fellowship Program (Advanced Clinical Experience in Spine Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Paul R. Gause is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director (nass); orthopaedic spine surgeon. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
KSKeven S. Burns, fellowship faculty at Spine Institute of Arizona

Faculty: Keven S. Burns

Orthopaedic Spine SurgeonOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Spine Institute of Arizona
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Keven S. Burns is listed in the cited programme evidence as orthopaedic spine surgeon for Spine Surgery Fellowship Program (Advanced Clinical Experience in Spine Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Keven S. Burns is listed by the official programme source as orthopaedic spine surgeon. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
ARInstitution associated with Allan Rowley

Faculty: Allan Rowley

Pain management (PM&R) rotationOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Spine Institute of Arizona
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Allan Rowley is listed in the cited programme evidence as pain management (pm&r) rotation for Spine Surgery Fellowship Program (Advanced Clinical Experience in Spine Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Allan Rowley is listed by the official programme source as pain management (pm&r) rotation. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

VDInstitution associated with Vibhooti Dave

Faculty: Vibhooti Dave

EMG/NCV diagnostics (PM&R) rotationOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Spine Institute of Arizona
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Vibhooti Dave is listed in the cited programme evidence as emg/ncv diagnostics (pm&r) rotation for Spine Surgery Fellowship Program (Advanced Clinical Experience in Spine Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Vibhooti Dave is listed by the official programme source as emg/ncv diagnostics (pm&r) rotation. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

BAInstitution associated with Brock Auten

Faculty: Brock Auten

Chiropractic and physiotherapy rotationOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Spine Institute of Arizona
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Brock Auten is listed in the cited programme evidence as chiropractic and physiotherapy rotation for Spine Surgery Fellowship Program (Advanced Clinical Experience in Spine Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Brock Auten is listed by the official programme source as chiropractic and physiotherapy rotation. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

NASS directory states the programme only accepts applicants who are completing a US residency programme.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy