Comprehensive · Source does not publish application deadline
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
Entry requirements published; check international conditions
Funding
Stanford Health Care GME house staff stipends for 2026–2027 (CIR/SEIU scale, continuing pending a new contract): PGY I USD 96,948.80; PGY II 101,192.00; PGY III 107,868.80; PGY IV 113,276.80; PGY V 119,558.40; PGY VI 124,280.00; PGY VII 130,540.80; PGY VIII 135,865.60 (base rate includes housing); the PGY level for this fellowship is not stated
Deadline
To be determined; no current cycle deadline published
Duration
12 months, August 1–July 31
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureAdult spinal diagnosis and operative and non-operative treatment, anterior approaches, minimally invasive surgery, motion preservation, fusion, optional paediatric deformity, resident teaching and required research
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
The published route requires completion of an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic-surgery residency and an unrestricted California licence; no separate route based solely on overseas residency is published.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
An unrestricted California medical licence is required.
—Not published
Language
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
No programme-specific sponsorship route is published; international applicants must first meet the ACGME-residency and unrestricted California-licence requirements.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY79% of core application fields verifiedChecked 2026-10-09 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— accreditation / organisation source · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineTo be determined; no current cycle deadline published
Commencing dateAugust 2028 (NASS/SF Match 2027 Spine Match)
Application route / cycle2027 Spine Surgery Fellowship Match via SF Match (NASS 2026–2027 directory and timetable, August 2028 start): applicant registration opened 3 August 2026 and stays open until the match deadline; the 2 September 2026 CAS target date is not a deadline (programmes may set their own); interview period 30 November 2026 – 19 March 2027; rank lists due 6 April 2027 (12:00 noon PT); Match Day 13 April 2027.
Official contactSue Gokey Gonzalez · Fellowship Coordinator+1 650 721 7616
Completed ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery residency
Unrestricted California medical licence
Application documents
Published by official source
Online registration and application through the Spine Fellowship Match central application service, with the required documents as posted (not itemised on the programme page)
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year orthopaedic spine fellowship with broad adult operative exposure, optional paediatric deformity and mandatory research. Stanford publishes the eligibility, faculty, coordinator and SF Match route, but the next deadline, interview dates and available cohort remain unconfirmed.
Intended for: Graduates of an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery residency who hold an unrestricted California licence
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Comprehensive adult spine diagnosis and operative and non-operative treatment, optional paediatric deformity, resident teaching and a required research project
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: Stanford Health Care GME house staff stipends for 2026–2027 (CIR/SEIU scale, continuing pending a new contract): PGY I USD 96,948.80; PGY II 101,192.00; PGY III 107,868.80; PGY IV 113,276.80; PGY V 119,558.40; PGY VI 124,280.00; PGY VII 130,540.80; PGY VIII 135,865.60 (base rate includes housing); the PGY level for this fellowship is not stated
HOST INSTITUTION
About Stanford University Medical Center / Stanford Medicine Outpatient Center
The programme combines inpatient work at Stanford University Medical Center and outpatient services in Redwood City, with optional paediatric deformity exposure at Lucile Packard Children's Hospital.
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (Carl J. Shapiro Department of Orthopaedics), Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts, United States · Not explicitly stated; the programme page refers to research to be completed 'during the year', and NASS likewise says the fellow must complete one project 'during the year'.View program profile →
Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy