Home›Spine›United States
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Spine →

The Spine Surgery Fellowship

Texas Back Institute

⌖ Plano · United States directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Richard D. Guyer

Profile completeness95%
Comprehensive · Source does not publish application deadline
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Annual stipend $65,000 (August 1 – July 31), with an opportunity to augment salary by covering a low-volume emergency room (NASS directory); not stated on programme page.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
One year (August 1 to July 31); requests for a six-month programme are considered on an individual basis (programme page).
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedOne year (August 1 to July 31); requests for a six-month programme are considered on an individual basis (programme page).
Clinical exposureHigh-volume academic private practice of 20+ fellowship-trained orthopaedic and neurosurgical spine surgeons; fellows treat degenerative disorders, paediatric and adult scoliosis/deformity, trauma and tumours, performing anterior, posterior and lateral decompressions and fusions, osteotomies, cervical and lumbar arthroplasty, MIS/endoscopic surgery, spinal injections and spinal cord stimulator implantation, with free-hand, CT-navigation and robotic techniques. NASS lists 75% operative / 20% non-operative / 5% research; lumbar 50%, cervical 35%, thoracic 15%; degenerative 60%, deformity 25%, trauma 10%, tumour 3%, paediatric 2%; graduating fellows typically complete more than 400 cases.
Funding · publishedAnnual stipend $65,000 (August 1 – July 31), with an opportunity to augment salary by covering a low-volume emergency room (NASS directory); not stated on programme page.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

Programme page requires an accredited US orthopaedic or neurosurgery residency (NASS also accepts Canada or Puerto Rico); the document list asks for ECFMG certification 'if applicable'.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

Board eligible or board certified (programme page; NASS) · Completion of an accredited orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery residency in the United States (programme page); NASS states United States, Canada or Puerto Rico · Eligibility for a full, unrestricted Texas medical license (programme page; NASS)

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

Eligibility for a full, unrestricted Texas medical license.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Not published.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

Annual stipend $65,000 (August 1 – July 31), with an opportunity to augment salary by covering a low-volume emergency room (NASS directory); not stated on programme page.

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

79% of core application fields verified

Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ registration✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · official sources conflict— international eligibility · official sources conflict— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateAugust 1
Application route / cycleParticipates in the SF Match (NASS directory); programme page asks applicants to contact the Fellowship office to apply.
Official contactKatherine Ruiz-Lopezkatherine.ruiz2@texasback.com(972) 608-5110

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Board eligible or board certified (programme page; NASS)
  • Completion of an accredited orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery residency in the United States (programme page); NASS states United States, Canada or Puerto Rico
  • Eligibility for a full, unrestricted Texas medical license (programme page; NASS)
Registration, licence & examinations

Eligibility for a full, unrestricted Texas medical license.

Visa / work authorisation

Not published.

Application documents
  • Curriculum vitae (with photograph)
  • Three recommendation letters
  • Personal statement
  • USMLE (or equivalent) exam scores
  • ECFMG (if applicable)

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

One-year spine surgery fellowship training orthopaedic surgeons and neurosurgeons in open, minimally invasive and motion-preserving spine surgery within a high-volume private practice, with required research through the Texas Back Institute Research Foundation.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Health, dental and vision insurance for fellows and families; up to $1,500 moving expense reimbursement; 8 paid conference days and up to $2,000 conference expense reimbursement; 10 days paid time off (NASS directory).

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

3 listed faculty members

RDRichard D. Guyer, fellowship faculty at Texas Back Institute

Program lead: Richard D. Guyer

Fellowship DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Texas Back Institute
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Richard D. Guyer is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for The Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Richard D. Guyer is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
TBTheodore Belanger, fellowship faculty at Texas Back Institute

Faculty: Theodore Belanger

Fellowship Co-Director (NASS)Official profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Texas Back Institute
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Theodore Belanger is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director (nass) for The Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Theodore Belanger is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director (nass). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
AMAlexander M. Satin, fellowship faculty at Texas Back Institute

Faculty: Alexander M. Satin

Fellowship Co-DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Texas Back Institute
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Alexander M. Satin is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director for The Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Alexander M. Satin is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

Programme page requires an accredited US orthopaedic or neurosurgery residency (NASS also accepts Canada or Puerto Rico); the document list asks for ECFMG certification 'if applicable'.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy