Clinical exposureHand, upper-extremity and nerve surgery for patients of all ages: acute trauma and sub-acute or chronic conditions from injury, overuse, congenital differences, ageing and rheumatic or autoimmune disease, including elbow, shoulder and brachial-plexus problems
Funding · not publishedNot published in the reviewed sources
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed an ACGME-accredited residency in orthopaedic surgery, plastic surgery or general surgery (ACGME hand-surgery requirement)
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published in the reviewed sources
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
52% of core application fields verified
Checked 1 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ eligibility✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · queued for source review— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · queued for source review— application process · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed an ACGME-accredited residency in orthopaedic surgery, plastic surgery or general surgery (ACGME hand-surgery requirement)
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year ACGME-accredited hand-surgery fellowship at UAB covering trauma, chronic and congenital hand and upper-extremity conditions, elbow, shoulder and brachial plexus, with a named director and programme coordinator.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Alabama at Birmingham Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
UAB's hand and upper-extremity section offers a one-year ACGME-accredited hand-surgery fellowship spanning hand, upper-extremity and nerve surgery across all ages.
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Kathleen McKeon is listed in the cited programme evidence as program director for UAB Hand and Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kathleen McKeon is listed by the official programme source as program director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Professor and Section ChiefOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Clinical focus
Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Ronit Wollstein is listed in the cited programme evidence as professor and section chief for UAB Hand and Upper Extremity Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hand & Microsurgery training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ronit Wollstein is listed by the official programme source as professor and section chief. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Surgeons who completed an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic, plastic or general surgery residency