Home›Spine›United States
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Spine →

UAB Spine Fellowship

University of Alabama at Birmingham Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

⌖ Birmingham · United States directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Sakthivel Rajan Rajaram Manoharan

Profile completeness90%
Comprehensive · Missing application deadline
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Stipend equivalent to PGY-6, plus benefits including malpractice coverage
Deadline
Not published
Duration
1 year
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
1 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year
Clinical exposureCombined orthopaedic and neurosurgical adult and paediatric spine experience across the full spectrum of spinal disorders: about 80% operative and 20% non-operative care, with roughly 40% lumbar, 40% cervical and 20% thoracic cases
Funding · publishedStipend equivalent to PGY-6, plus benefits including malpractice coverage
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

—Not published

International applicant eligibility

The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

Graduate of an approved orthopaedic residency

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

—Not published

Medical registration

Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

No licensing-examination information is published.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

—Not published

Visa or work authorisation

Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

Stipend equivalent to PGY-6, plus benefits including malpractice coverage

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

76% of core application fields verified

Checked 1 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateAugust 2028 for the current NASS/SF Match cycle
Application route / cycleUAB matches applicants through the Spine Surgery Fellowship Match. 2026–2027 NASS Spine Fellowship Match through SF Match: applicant registration opened 3 August 2026, interviews run 30 November 2026–19 March 2027 and rank lists are due 6 April 2027. Deadlines are set by each programme.
Official contactAnita Mollicadmollica@uabmc.edu(205) 996-7258

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Graduate of an approved orthopaedic residency
Registration, licence & examinations

AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Visa / work authorisation

Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Application documents

CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A one-year, single-position UAB spine fellowship combining orthopaedic and neurosurgical adult and paediatric spine care, paid at the PGY-6 level and matched through SF Match.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Benefits including malpractice coverage

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Listed program lead

SRSakthivel Rajan Rajaram Manoharan, fellowship faculty at University of Alabama at Birmingham Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Program lead: Sakthivel Rajan Rajaram Manoharan

Fellowship DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Sakthivel Rajan Rajaram Manoharan is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director for UAB Spine Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Sakthivel Rajan Rajaram Manoharan is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

APPLICANT PROFILE

Graduates of approved orthopaedic residencies

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy