$67,000 salary with benefits (NASS directory). UAMS GME 2025-2026 PGY stipend scale ranges $61,281–$77,762 (applicant information page; fellowship PGY level not stated).
Deadline
Not published
Duration
One year (August 1 – July 31).
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedOne year (August 1 – July 31).
Clinical exposureIntegrated orthopaedic–neurosurgical fellowship with ~80% operative time and an anticipated 350–400 cases: primary/revision degenerative, adult and pediatric complex deformity, primary and metastatic tumours and complex trauma at Arkansas's only adult Level 1 trauma centre, using MIS, endoscopic, lateral, 360° fusion, O-arm navigation and robotics at TOSH, UAMS Medical Center and Arkansas Children's Hospital.
Funding · published$67,000 salary with benefits (NASS directory). UAMS GME 2025-2026 PGY stipend scale ranges $61,281–$77,762 (applicant information page; fellowship PGY level not stated).
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
UAMS applicant information page states its ACGME-accredited residency and fellowship programmes sponsor only J-1 visas for international medical graduates; new H-1B petitions are not sponsored (H-1B extensions/transfers may be considered). Not specific to the spine fellowship.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Graduate of an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery residency programme · Meet UAMS GMEC policy 1.200 Recruitment and Appointment eligibility criteria · Negative pre-employment drug screen · Successful criminal background check · Completion of electronic onboarding checklist
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not specified on programme page (Arkansas licensing requirements not stated).
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
J-1 sponsorship only for new visa sponsorship; no new H-1B petitions (UAMS GME policy, updated October 9, 2025).
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
$67,000 salary with benefits (NASS directory). UAMS GME 2025-2026 PGY stipend scale ranges $61,281–$77,762 (applicant information page; fellowship PGY level not stated).
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
76% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ application portal✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · official sources conflict— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— official contact · official sources conflict
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateAugust 1
Application route / cycleApplication materials are submitted through SF Match (Spine Surgery Fellowship Match).
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Graduate of an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery residency programme
Meet UAMS GMEC policy 1.200 Recruitment and Appointment eligibility criteria
Negative pre-employment drug screen
Successful criminal background check
Completion of electronic onboarding checklist
Registration, licence & examinations
Not specified on programme page (Arkansas licensing requirements not stated).
Visa / work authorisation
J-1 sponsorship only for new visa sponsorship; no new H-1B petitions (UAMS GME policy, updated October 9, 2025).
Application documents
Application materials via SF Match (not itemised on programme page)
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year integrated orthopaedic and neurosurgical spine fellowship at UAMS with broad adult and pediatric operative exposure, AO Spine North America affiliation and an expectation of at least one publishable research project.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Benefits per UAMS GME Resident Handbook (applicant information page). AO Spine North America site: funded attendance at the AOSNA Introductory Fellowship Course and Annual Fellows Forum, plus complimentary AO Spine membership (programme page).
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation
UAMS is Arkansas's only health sciences university, and UAMS Medical Center is the state's only adult Level 1 trauma centre; spine care is delivered at The Orthopaedic & Spine Hospital (TOSH), UAMS Medical Center and Arkansas Children's Hospital.
Samuel C. Overley is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director; orthopaedic spine surgery for UAMS Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Samuel C. Overley is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director; orthopaedic spine surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Hector E. Soriano Baron is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director; neurosurgery spine division director for UAMS Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Hector E. Soriano Baron is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director; neurosurgery spine division director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
David B. Bumpass is listed in the cited programme evidence as orthopaedic spine division director for UAMS Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
David B. Bumpass is listed by the official programme source as orthopaedic spine division director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Spine SurgeryOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UAMS College of Medicine / UAMS Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Wayne L. Bruffett is listed in the cited programme evidence as assistant professor, orthopaedic spine surgery for UAMS Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Wayne L. Bruffett is listed by the official programme source as assistant professor, orthopaedic spine surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Spine SurgeryOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UAMS College of Medicine / UAMS Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Mark A. Feger is listed in the cited programme evidence as assistant professor, orthopaedic spine surgery for UAMS Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Mark A. Feger is listed by the official programme source as assistant professor, orthopaedic spine surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Director, Jackson T. Stephens Spine Institute; Spine NeurosurgeryOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UAMS College of Medicine / UAMS Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
T. Glenn Pait is listed in the cited programme evidence as director, jackson t. stephens spine institute; spine neurosurgery for UAMS Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
T. Glenn Pait is listed by the official programme source as director, jackson t. stephens spine institute; spine neurosurgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
UAMS applicant information page states its ACGME-accredited residency and fellowship programmes sponsor only J-1 visas for international medical graduates; new H-1B petitions are not sponsored (H-1B extensions/transfers may be considered). Not specific to the spine fellowship.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.