Salary determined by PGY level: PGY6 $103,216; PGY8 $111,562; additional stipend available for conferences and courses (NASS directory). Not stated on programme page.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
One year (programme page: 'typically, the fellowship lasts one year'; NASS: one-year).
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedOne year (programme page: 'typically, the fellowship lasts one year'; NASS: one-year).
Clinical exposureHigh-volume Level 1 trauma centre covering trauma, tumour, infection, deformity, pediatric and degenerative spine; open and MIS techniques including endoscopic, robotic, augmented-reality, motion-preserving and complex reconstructive surgery, with outpatient surgery at the 48X Surgery Center, Spine Center clinics and spine call. NASS: 80% operative / 20% non-operative; lumbar 50%, cervical 40%, thoracic 10%.
Funding · publishedSalary determined by PGY level: PGY6 $103,216; PGY8 $111,562; additional stipend available for conferences and courses (NASS directory). Not stated on programme page.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed residency training in neurosurgery or orthopaedics · Able to obtain an unrestricted California medical licence
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Must be able to obtain an unrestricted California medical licence.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Salary determined by PGY level: PGY6 $103,216; PGY8 $111,562; additional stipend available for conferences and courses (NASS directory). Not stated on programme page.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ registration✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect application by email to the programme (no match stated).
Official contactStaci Leitner (Fellowship Contact); Richard Price, MD, PhDsleitner@health.ucdavis.edu; riprice@health.ucdavis.edu(916) 734-3071 (NASS)
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed residency training in neurosurgery or orthopaedics
Able to obtain an unrestricted California medical licence
Registration, licence & examinations
Must be able to obtain an unrestricted California medical licence.
Visa / work authorisation
Not published.
Application documents
Cover letter
Current curriculum vitae
Two letters of recommendation
(sent as one PDF file)
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year CAST-accredited neurosurgical spine fellowship emphasising hands-on open and minimally invasive surgery, including endoscopic, robotic and augmented-reality techniques, with clinic, call and research responsibilities.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Additional stipend to attend conferences and courses; AO Spine fellowship-site resources (NASS directory).
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of California, Davis Health – Department of Neurological Surgery
UC Davis Health in Sacramento is an academic medical centre and high-volume Level 1 trauma centre with a multidisciplinary Spine Center.
Richard L. (Rick) Price III is listed in the cited programme evidence as neuro spine fellowship director; assistant professor, neurological surgery for Spine Fellowship (Neurological Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Richard L. (Rick) Price III is listed by the official programme source as neuro spine fellowship director; assistant professor, neurological surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Kee D. Kim is listed in the cited programme evidence as chief, spinal neurosurgery; co-director, uc davis spine center; professor for Spine Fellowship (Neurological Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kee D. Kim is listed by the official programme source as chief, spinal neurosurgery; co-director, uc davis spine center; professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Associate Professor; Residency Program Director of Neurological SurgeryOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UC Davis Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Allan R. Martin is listed in the cited programme evidence as associate professor; residency program director of neurological surgery for Spine Fellowship (Neurological Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Allan R. Martin is listed by the official programme source as associate professor; residency program director of neurological surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Assistant Professor, Neurological SurgeryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UC Davis Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Hansen Deng is listed in the cited programme evidence as assistant professor, neurological surgery for Spine Fellowship (Neurological Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Hansen Deng is listed by the official programme source as assistant professor, neurological surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
TW
Faculty: Thomas Wozny
Assistant Professor, Neurological SurgeryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UC Davis Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Thomas Wozny is listed in the cited programme evidence as assistant professor, neurological surgery for Spine Fellowship (Neurological Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Thomas Wozny is listed by the official programme source as assistant professor, neurological surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.