Home›Spine›United States
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipRolling application
Spine →

UCLA Neurosurgery Complex and Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery Fellowship

UCLA Department of Neurosurgery

⌖ Los Angeles · United States directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Langston T. Holly · Andrew C. Vivas

Profile completeness100%
Comprehensive · Core fields complete
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Salary and benefits follow UCLA GME; the programme does not state the PGY level
Deadline
Applications are accepted on a rolling basis
Duration
1 year
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year
Clinical exposureAbout 300 major spinal operations including minimally invasive approaches, deformity, oncology, trauma, degenerative and congenital disorders at Ronald Reagan UCLA, the West Los Angeles VA and the UCLA Santa Monica Spine Center, plus outpatient indications training, the weekly joint neurosurgery–orthopaedic spine conference and NIH-funded spinal-cord research
Funding · publishedSalary and benefits follow UCLA GME; the programme does not state the PGY level
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

The programme states it cannot accept international fellows who require visa support, and the California licence requires at least 24 months of ACGME-accredited US postgraduate training.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

Hold, or be able to obtain before the start, an unrestricted California Physician & Surgeon licence (the Medical Board of California requires at least 24 months of ACGME-accredited US postgraduate training)

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

An unrestricted California Physician & Surgeon licence is required before the start; processing typically takes about six months.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

The programme is not able to accept international fellows who require visa support.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

Salary and benefits follow UCLA GME; the programme does not state the PGY level

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

93% of core application fields verified

Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineApplications are accepted on a rolling basis
Commencing date1 July
Application route / cycleRolling applications: send a CV and two letters of recommendation to the fellowship coordinator
Official contactAbigail McCann · Fellowship Coordinatoramccann@mednet.ucla.edu

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Hold, or be able to obtain before the start, an unrestricted California Physician & Surgeon licence (the Medical Board of California requires at least 24 months of ACGME-accredited US postgraduate training)
Registration, licence & examinations

An unrestricted California Physician & Surgeon licence is required before the start; processing typically takes about six months.

Visa / work authorisation

The programme is not able to accept international fellows who require visa support.

Application documents
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Two letters of recommendation, one from your residency Program Director or Department Chair

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A one-year, one-fellow CAST-certified neurosurgical spine fellowship at UCLA with about 300 major spine operations, starting 1 July, with rolling applications; it cannot sponsor visas.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Support is provided for travel to neurosurgery and spine meetings

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

2 listed faculty members

LTLangston T. Holly, fellowship faculty at UCLA Department of Neurosurgery

Program lead: Langston T. Holly

Fellowship Co-DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
UCLA Department of Neurosurgery
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Langston T. Holly is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director for UCLA Neurosurgery Complex and Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Langston T. Holly is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
ACAndrew C. Vivas, fellowship faculty at UCLA Department of Neurosurgery

Faculty: Andrew C. Vivas

Fellowship Co-DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UCLA Department of Neurosurgery
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Andrew C. Vivas is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director for UCLA Neurosurgery Complex and Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Andrew C. Vivas is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

APPLICANT PROFILE

Spine surgeons who hold, or can obtain, an unrestricted California Physician & Surgeon licence

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

The programme states it cannot accept international fellows who require visa support, and the California licence requires at least 24 months of ACGME-accredited US postgraduate training.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy