Paid through the Capital Area Health Consortium (CAHC) GME salary scale; 2026–2027 rates are PGY6 $93,204 and PGY7 $96,543. The fellowship's PGY level is not stated on the programme page.
Deadline
October 1
Duration
1 year (August 1 through July 31)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year (August 1 through July 31)
Clinical exposureOperative and non-operative care of degenerative, deformity, neoplastic and traumatic spine conditions at UConn Health (academic centre) and Hartford Hospital (Level I trauma centre). Each week has 2–3 OR days with open and minimally invasive techniques (MIS decompression/fusion, lateral interbody fusion, MIS deformity correction, robotic navigation) and 1–2 clinic days in the UConn Comprehensive Spine Center. NASS lists 60% operative, 30% non-operative and 10% research time.
Funding · publishedPaid through the Capital Area Health Consortium (CAHC) GME salary scale; 2026–2027 rates are PGY6 $93,204 and PGY7 $96,543. The fellowship's PGY level is not stated on the programme page.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
UConn GME accepts graduates of medical schools outside the US and Canada who hold or will hold a valid ECFMG certificate and have completed the prerequisite training.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Program-specific prerequisite training as required by ACGME (completed orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery residency) · Graduate of an LCME- or AOA-accredited US/Canadian school, or an international graduate holding (or due to hold) a valid ECFMG certificate (UConn GME eligibility policy) · Apply through SF Match
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not specified on the programme page.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published on the programme page or the UConn GME eligibility page.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Paid through the Capital Area Health Consortium (CAHC) GME salary scale; 2026–2027 rates are PGY6 $93,204 and PGY7 $96,543. The fellowship's PGY level is not stated on the programme page.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
83% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— official contact · official sources conflict
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Program-specific prerequisite training as required by ACGME (completed orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery residency)
Graduate of an LCME- or AOA-accredited US/Canadian school, or an international graduate holding (or due to hold) a valid ECFMG certificate (UConn GME eligibility policy)
Apply through SF Match
Registration, licence & examinations
Not specified on the programme page.
Visa / work authorisation
Not published on the programme page or the UConn GME eligibility page.
Application documents
SF Match application (requirements as listed on SF Match)
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year ACGME-accredited orthopaedic spine surgery fellowship split between UConn Health and Hartford Hospital, with open and advanced minimally invasive training, a bioskills lab and a protected weekly research half-day.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
4 weeks vacation and 10 sick days; free counselling, individual spine mentors, on-site gym memberships at UConn Health and Hartford Hospital, journal club dinners; CAHC medical, dental, vision, life and disability insurance.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About UConn Health, Musculoskeletal Institute (University of Connecticut School of Medicine)
UConn Health is the University of Connecticut's academic medical centre in Farmington, and its Musculoskeletal Institute runs the orthopaedic residency and fellowships.
Program Director; Chair and Professor, Orthopaedic SurgeryOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
UConn Health
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Isaac L. Moss is listed in the cited programme evidence as program director; chair and professor, orthopaedic surgery for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Isaac L. Moss is listed by the official programme source as program director; chair and professor, orthopaedic surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Scott S. Mallozzi is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Scott S. Mallozzi is listed by the official programme source as faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Sean M. Esmende is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Sean M. Esmende is listed by the official programme source as faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Ian T. McNeill is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ian T. McNeill is listed by the official programme source as faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Hardeep Singh is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Hardeep Singh is listed by the official programme source as faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Michael H. Weber is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Michael H. Weber is listed by the official programme source as faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
UConn GME accepts graduates of medical schools outside the US and Canada who hold or will hold a valid ECFMG certificate and have completed the prerequisite training.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.