NASS: approximately $67,000 per year plus benefits. The programme page gives no stipend.
Deadline
December 1 (NASS); not stated on the programme page
Duration
1 year (August 1 – July 31)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year (August 1 – July 31)
Clinical exposure300–400 surgical cases in the year, drawn from four full-time adult and two paediatric spine attendings. Covers trauma (Jackson Memorial Level 1 Trauma Center), tumours, infection, deformity and degenerative disease of the cervical, thoracic and lumbar spine via anterior and posterior approaches, working closely with neurosurgery. 80% operative, 10% non-operative and 10% research time.
Funding · publishedNASS: approximately $67,000 per year plus benefits. The programme page gives no stipend.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Not stated for this programme. Jackson Health System GME's FAQ says it accepts J-1 visas, but the spine fellowship is not on Jackson's GME programme list.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Not stated on the programme page or NASS entry beyond being an orthopaedic spine fellowship (ACGME Orthopaedic Surgery of the Spine)
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not stated on the programme page. Jackson Health System GME (institution-wide FAQ) accepts J-1 visas.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
NASS: approximately $67,000 per year plus benefits. The programme page gives no stipend.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
66% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ visa / work authorisation✓ deadline✓ official contact✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · official sources conflict— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— application process · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source— Faculty information requires reverification · official sources conflict
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineDecember 1 (NASS); not stated on the programme page
Commencing dateAugust 1
Application route / cycleAnnual (NASS deadline December 1)
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not stated on the programme page or NASS entry beyond being an orthopaedic spine fellowship (ACGME Orthopaedic Surgery of the Spine)
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Not stated on the programme page. Jackson Health System GME (institution-wide FAQ) accepts J-1 visas.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year ACGME-accredited orthopaedic spine fellowship with 300–400 cases across adult and paediatric spine at UHealth/Jackson Memorial, with weekly indications conferences, a lecture series, journal club and dedicated research time.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
NASS states 'plus benefits'. The Jackson Health System GME page lists, for all residents and fellows, a $0-premium Jackson First HMO plan, free Delta Dental standard plan and mental-health support; whether this fellowship is on the Jackson scale is not stated.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Department of Orthopaedics / Jackson Memorial Hospital
The University of Miami Miller School of Medicine Department of Orthopaedics trains residents and fellows at UHealth and Jackson Memorial Hospital, Miami's Level 1 trauma centre.
Joseph P. Gjolaj is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director; adult & pediatric deformity, spine trauma for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Joseph P. Gjolaj is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director; adult & pediatric deformity, spine trauma. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Frank J. Eismont is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty; cervical spine pathologies for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Frank J. Eismont is listed by the official programme source as faculty; cervical spine pathologies. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Faculty; Non-operative Spine Care, Pediatric and Adult Spinal Deformity, Spine TraumaOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Nathan H. Lebwohl is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty; non-operative spine care, pediatric and adult spinal deformity, spine trauma for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Nathan H. Lebwohl is listed by the official programme source as faculty; non-operative spine care, pediatric and adult spinal deformity, spine trauma. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Evan J. Trapana is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty; minimally invasive spine surgery, disc arthroplasty, spine trauma for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Evan J. Trapana is listed by the official programme source as faculty; minimally invasive spine surgery, disc arthroplasty, spine trauma. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Emmanuel N. Menga is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty; complex cervical spine, spinal deformity, spine trauma, spinal oncology for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Emmanuel N. Menga is listed by the official programme source as faculty; complex cervical spine, spinal deformity, spine trauma, spinal oncology. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Francis John Hornicek, Jr. is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty; spinal oncology for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Francis John Hornicek, Jr. is listed by the official programme source as faculty; spinal oncology. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Faculty; Pediatric Deformity and Vertebral Body TetheringOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Brian Grottkau is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty; pediatric deformity and vertebral body tethering for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Brian Grottkau is listed by the official programme source as faculty; pediatric deformity and vertebral body tethering. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Faculty; Pediatric DeformityOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University of Miami (programme page)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Thomas Errico is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty; pediatric deformity for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Thomas Errico is listed by the official programme source as faculty; pediatric deformity. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
SG
Faculty: Stephen George
Faculty; Pediatric DeformityOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
University of Miami (programme page)
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Stephen George is listed in the cited programme evidence as faculty; pediatric deformity for Orthopaedic Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Stephen George is listed by the official programme source as faculty; pediatric deformity. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Not stated for this programme. Jackson Health System GME's FAQ says it accepts J-1 visas, but the spine fellowship is not on Jackson's GME programme list.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.