NASS directory cites a 2016–2017 stipend of $62,340 plus benefits (historical figure); the programme page does not state current salary.
Deadline
Programme page: Friday, November 15, 2024 (historical, not updated); NASS directory: December 31.
Duration
1 year (August 1 to July 31)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year (August 1 to July 31)
Clinical exposureNon-operative and operative care of spinal disorders in patients of all ages, including congenital and developmental disorders, infections, tumours, degenerative disease, trauma, adult and paediatric deformity, cervical and lumbar disc arthroplasty, and anterior/posterior decompression, fusion and instrumentation; the fellow teaches residents and sees clinic patients. NASS lists 60% operative / 40% non-operative; lumbar 50%, cervical 30%, thoracic 20%; degenerative 50%, trauma 15%, deformity 15%, paediatric 10%, tumour 5%, other 5%.
Funding · publishedNASS directory cites a 2016–2017 stipend of $62,340 plus benefits (historical figure); the programme page does not state current salary.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Programme page accepts residency completion accredited by ACGME, ACGME-I, RCPSC or CFPC; no other international eligibility details are published.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completion of an accredited residency programme in Orthopaedic Surgery (ACGME, ACGME-I, RCPSC or CFPC)
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
NASS directory cites a 2016–2017 stipend of $62,340 plus benefits (historical figure); the programme page does not state current salary.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
72% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Funding information not published · historical evidence only— benefits · historical evidence only— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · official sources conflict— Faculty information requires reverification · official sources conflict
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineProgramme page: Friday, November 15, 2024 (historical, not updated); NASS directory: December 31.
Commencing dateAugust 1
Application route / cycleApply through the San Francisco (SF) Match. Last published cycle on programme page: deadline Friday, November 15, 2024 with interviews on January 18 and 25, 2025 (historical).
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completion of an accredited residency programme in Orthopaedic Surgery (ACGME, ACGME-I, RCPSC or CFPC)
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Not published.
Application documents
Curriculum Vitae (CV)
Letter of Good Standing
USMLE Scores
Three letters of recommendation
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
One-year ACGME-accredited orthopaedic spine fellowship covering operative and non-operative management of spinal disorders across all ages, with resident teaching and expected research productivity; participates in the SF Match.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Benefits mentioned without detail (NASS directory, historical 2016–2017 statement); not described on programme page.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Virginia School of Medicine / UVA Health
The University of Virginia Department of Orthopaedic Surgery is an academic department of UVA School of Medicine and UVA Health in Charlottesville.
Stephen Lockey is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director, spine surgery (faculty profile); assistant professor for Spine Fellowship (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Stephen Lockey is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director, spine surgery (faculty profile); assistant professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Fellowship co-director for orthopedic spine surgery (faculty profile); ProfessorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UVA Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Adam L. Shimer is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship co-director for orthopedic spine surgery (faculty profile); professor for Spine Fellowship (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Adam L. Shimer is listed by the official programme source as fellowship co-director for orthopedic spine surgery (faculty profile); professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Mary Muilenburg Stamp Professor; Vice Chair for Research (listed as Director in NASS)Official profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UVA Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Joshua Li is listed in the cited programme evidence as mary muilenburg stamp professor; vice chair for research (listed as director in nass) for Spine Fellowship (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Joshua Li is listed by the official programme source as mary muilenburg stamp professor; vice chair for research (listed as director in nass). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Warren G. Stamp Professor; head of Orthopaedic division of Spine; Co-Director of the Spine CenterOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UVA Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Francis H. Shen is listed in the cited programme evidence as warren g. stamp professor; head of orthopaedic division of spine; co-director of the spine center for Spine Fellowship (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Francis H. Shen is listed by the official programme source as warren g. stamp professor; head of orthopaedic division of spine; co-director of the spine center. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Associate Professor, Spine SurgeryOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UVA Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Anuj Singla is listed in the cited programme evidence as associate professor, spine surgery for Spine Fellowship (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Anuj Singla is listed by the official programme source as associate professor, spine surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Keith Bachmann is listed in the cited programme evidence as pediatric spine (nass) for Spine Fellowship (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Keith Bachmann is listed by the official programme source as pediatric spine (nass). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Programme page accepts residency completion accredited by ACGME, ACGME-I, RCPSC or CFPC; no other international eligibility details are published.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.