Home›Spine›United States
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Spine →

Spine Surgery Fellowship

University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation / UW Health

⌖ Madison · United States directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Seth K. Williams

Profile completeness95%
Comprehensive · Source does not publish application deadline
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
UW Health GME annual stipend rates 2026–27 range from PGY-1 $73,449 to PGY-8 $99,104 (e.g. PGY-6 $90,508); the programme does not state which PGY level applies to the spine fellow. NASS cites a historical 2016–2017 compensation of $66,775 plus benefits.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
One year
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · publishedOne year
Clinical exposureComprehensive operative and non-operative training across cervical, thoracic and lumbar disorders including trauma (University Hospital is a Level I Trauma Center), infection, neoplasm, degenerative disease, deformity and complex revision/reconstruction, with emphasis on microsurgery, MIS, anterior approaches and deformity; approximately 400 surgical procedures a year. Fellows teach residents and students, attend weekly Grand Rounds and monthly Spine Indications conferences, and present at the yearly Research Forum. NASS lists 70% operative / 20% non-operative / 10% research; degenerative 50%, trauma 20%, deformity 20%, tumour 10%.
Funding · publishedUW Health GME annual stipend rates 2026–27 range from PGY-1 $73,449 to PGY-8 $99,104 (e.g. PGY-6 $90,508); the programme does not state which PGY level applies to the spine fellow. NASS cites a historical 2016–2017 compensation of $66,775 plus benefits.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

An ACGME-accredited residency is required; applicants needing visa sponsorship must be eligible for a J-1 visa.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

Completion of an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery residency before the start of the programme · Board eligible (or board certified) in orthopaedics or neurosurgery · Fully licensed in the State of Wisconsin before the start of the programme · Eligible for a J-1 visa if visa sponsorship is required

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

Full Wisconsin medical license before the start of the programme.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

J-1 visa eligibility required if visa sponsorship is needed.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

UW Health GME annual stipend rates 2026–27 range from PGY-1 $73,449 to PGY-8 $99,104 (e.g. PGY-6 $90,508); the programme does not state which PGY level applies to the spine fellow. NASS cites a historical 2016–2017 compensation of $66,775 plus benefits.

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

83% of core application fields verified

Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— Faculty information requires reverification · official sources conflict
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateAugust 1 (NASS directory); not stated on programme pages
Application route / cycleApplications accepted through the San Francisco Match.
Official contactAmy Vincent, Education Program Managervincent@ortho.wisc.edu(608) 262-8846

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Completion of an ACGME-accredited orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery residency before the start of the programme
  • Board eligible (or board certified) in orthopaedics or neurosurgery
  • Fully licensed in the State of Wisconsin before the start of the programme
  • Eligible for a J-1 visa if visa sponsorship is required
Registration, licence & examinations

Full Wisconsin medical license before the start of the programme.

Visa / work authorisation

J-1 visa eligibility required if visa sponsorship is needed.

Application documents

CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

One-year academic spine surgery fellowship with two positions, about 400 operative cases, significant spinal trauma and degenerative/deformity work, resident teaching and a required research project.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

UW Health GME benefits: comprehensive health and dental insurance for fellow and family, hospital-paid long-term disability, liability coverage, life insurance options, three weeks paid vacation, supplemental retirement plans, free Madison Metro bus pass, lab coats and scrubs. Programme encourages attendance at two national spine meetings a year.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

4 listed faculty members

SKSeth K. Williams, fellowship faculty at University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation / UW Health

Program lead: Seth K. Williams

Spine Fellowship Program Director; Professor (CHS); Orthopedic Surgery Clinical Vice ChairOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
UW School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Seth K. Williams is listed in the cited programme evidence as spine fellowship program director; professor (chs); orthopedic surgery clinical vice chair for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Seth K. Williams is listed by the official programme source as spine fellowship program director; professor (chs); orthopedic surgery clinical vice chair. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
MJMiranda J. Bice, fellowship faculty at University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation / UW Health

Faculty: Miranda J. Bice

Orthopedic spine facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UW School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Miranda J. Bice is listed in the cited programme evidence as orthopedic spine faculty for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Miranda J. Bice is listed by the official programme source as orthopedic spine faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
CBClifford B. Tribus, fellowship faculty at University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation / UW Health

Faculty: Clifford B. Tribus

Orthopedic spine facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UW School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Clifford B. Tribus is listed in the cited programme evidence as orthopedic spine faculty for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Clifford B. Tribus is listed by the official programme source as orthopedic spine faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
JBJames Bernatz, fellowship faculty at University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation / UW Health

Faculty: James Bernatz

Orthopedic spine facultyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
UW School of Medicine and Public Health, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

James Bernatz is listed in the cited programme evidence as orthopedic spine faculty for Spine Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

James Bernatz is listed by the official programme source as orthopedic spine faculty. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

An ACGME-accredited residency is required; applicants needing visa sponsorship must be eligible for a J-1 visa.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy