Well sourced · Missing funding, application deadline, commencement date
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Unclear — confirm with host
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Supervised participation published
Last checked
27 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureHands-on paediatric orthopaedic fellowship under experienced supervisors; the university does not itemise the case mix or operative volumes on the current programme page
Funding · not publishedNot published by the official university or SAOA pages
DestinationSouth Africa
Participation levelSupervised clinical participation is published; exact privileges remain subject to host credentialing and local law.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
—Not published
Required training level
Training-level and qualification requirements are not fully published.
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
≈Partially published
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on paediatric orthopaedic fellowship under experienced supervisors; the university does not itemise the case mix or operative volumes on the current programme page Exact privileges remain subject to host credentialing.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published by the official university or SAOA pages
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
55% of core application fields verified
Checked 27 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-23. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ benefits✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— positions · not published by the cited official source— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleDirect enquiry; the current university and SAOA pages do not publish an active deadline or start date
Official contactStellenbosch Division of Orthopaedic Surgery+27 21 938 9266
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Requirements to confirm before applying
Clinical / academic eligibility
Not published by the cited official source.
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A current 12-month hands-on paediatric orthopaedic fellowship at Stellenbosch University and Tygerberg Hospital, endorsed by SAOA. The official university page confirms the programme and academic setting; position count, funding and next intake are not published.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Hands-on paediatric orthopaedic training under two published supervisors within an academic division integrating clinical care, teaching and research
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Stellenbosch University / Tygerberg Academic Hospital
Stellenbosch’s Division of Orthopaedic Surgery is based at Tygerberg Hospital and integrates hands-on clinical training with university research and postgraduate teaching.
Stellenbosch University / Tygerberg Academic Hospital
Clinical focus
Paediatric orthopaedics and fellowship supervision
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jacques du Toit is listed in the cited programme evidence as programme director for Stellenbosch Paediatric Orthopaedic Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric orthopaedics and fellowship supervision. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jacques du Toit is listed by the official programme source as programme director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Stellenbosch University / Tygerberg Academic Hospital
Clinical focus
Paediatric orthopaedics
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Mari Thiart is listed in the cited programme evidence as programme co-director for Stellenbosch Paediatric Orthopaedic Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric orthopaedics. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Mari Thiart is listed by the official programme source as programme co-director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Qualified orthopaedic surgeons seeking a year of hands-on paediatric orthopaedic subspecialty training