Well sourced · Missing duration, funding, application deadline
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
Not published
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
20 Aug 2026
Duration · not publishedNot published by the current SAOA directory
Clinical exposurePaediatric orthopaedic fellowship across Red Cross Children’s Hospital and Groote Schuur Hospital; detailed rotations, operative role and case volumes are not published in the current endorsement listing
Funding · not publishedNot published by the current SAOA directory
DestinationSouth Africa
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Orthopaedic surgeons seeking paediatric orthopaedic subspecialty training in a South African academic-hospital system
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published by the current SAOA directory
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
52% of core application fields verified
Checked 20 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-16. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— duration · not published by the cited official source— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · not applicable to this pathway
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleContact SAOA for the programme-director route; the association keeps director contact documents in its member area and does not publish duration, eligibility, deadline or the next start publicly
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Orthopaedic surgeons seeking paediatric orthopaedic subspecialty training in a South African academic-hospital system
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A verified SAOA-endorsed Cape Town paediatric orthopaedic fellowship. It is listed with its three participating institutions and programme director, while all unpublished operational details remain clearly marked for direct confirmation.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Cape Town / Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital / Groote Schuur Hospital
The endorsed fellowship links UCT with Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital and Groote Schuur Hospital under named programme director Anria Horn.
University of Cape Town / Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital
Clinical focus
Paediatric orthopaedics and paediatric musculoskeletal infection
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Anria Horn is listed in the cited programme evidence as programme director for UCT / Red Cross Children’s Hospital Paediatric Orthopaedic Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Paediatric orthopaedics and paediatric musculoskeletal infection. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Anria Horn is listed by the official programme source as programme director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Orthopaedic surgeons seeking paediatric orthopaedic subspecialty training in a South African academic-hospital system