SUBSPECIALTY DIRECTORY

Hip and Knee Fellowships Worldwide

Compare 418 hip and knee fellowship pathways across 41 countries on OrthoFellow. Check each programme’s arthroplasty, reconstruction or preservation scope, recruitment status and official source.

CHOOSE PROGRAMME TYPE

How would you like to train?

Switch between clinical, research and observer pathways within Hip & Knee. Choose All programmes to compare every format together.

EVERY FORMAT

All programmes in Hip & Knee

418 sourced opportunities. Each card keeps its exact format, duration, host and official source visible.

✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Cavendish Fellowship (Complex Primary and Revision Lower Limb Arthroplasty)

Lower Limb Arthroplasty Unit, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS FT

⌖ Sheffield, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

AHAndy Hamer, fellowship faculty at Lower Limb Arthroplasty Unit, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS FTAndy HamerBKBob Kerry+4 more

Duration12 months
FundingBHS: MT05 £76,582; BASK register: £55,329 to £63,152 a year
ExposureComplex primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty including one- and two-stage revision for infection, aseptic revision,…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

ROH Senior Fellowship in Young Adult Hip Surgery

Young Adult Hip Unit, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Birmingham, England · United Kingdom →

Program lead

CMCallum McBryde, fellowship faculty at Young Adult Hip Unit, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation TrustCallum McBryde

Duration6 or 12 months
Funding£65,048 to £73,992 depending on experience
ExposureHip preservation through to complex primary THR: hip arthroscopy, pelvic and femoral reorientation osteotomy, resurfacing,…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Research Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Joint NJR–RCS England Research Fellowship

National Joint Registry / Royal College of Surgeons of England

⌖ United Kingdom · host institution selected by applicant · United Kingdom →

DurationUp to 2 years; the second year is subject to satisfactory…
FundingUp to GBP 100,000 per year for a maximum of 2 years; the fellow remains employed by the host…
ExposureIndependent research using National Joint Registry data on joint replacement, based at a recognised orthopaedic host centre with…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Edinburgh Orthopaedics Lower Limb Arthroplasty Fellowship

NHS Lothian - Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh

⌖ Edinburgh, Scotland · United Kingdom →

Program lead

GMGavin Macpherson, fellowship faculty at NHS Lothian - Royal Infirmary of EdinburghGavin Macpherson

Duration6 or 12 months
FundingThe NHS Lothian FOI reply states basic pay of GBP 62,758 for a grade 5 clinical fellow and GBP…
ExposureOne-to-one work with a clinical supervisor on complex primary and revision hip and knee surgery within a 12-surgeon arthroplasty…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Frimley Park Hip Fellowship

Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Frimley, England · United Kingdom →

Duration12 months
FundingSpecialty Doctor grade, fixed term 12 months: £61,542 to £99,216 a year per annum, as advertised…
ExposureYoung-adult hip surgery including open and arthroscopic impingement surgery; complex primary and revision arthroplasty;…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Northumbria Revision Arthroplasty Fellowship (BOA Clinical Leadership Programme)

Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Ashington, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

PPPaul Partington, fellowship faculty at Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation TrustPaul PartingtonMRMike Reed, fellowship faculty at Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation TrustMike Reed+5 more

Duration12 months
FundingST8: £80,730 (BHS); BASK register: 'High year Specialty Trainee'
ExposureHigh-volume hip and knee revision arthroplasty with two six-month consultant attachments, a weekly shared revision list, three…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

QEUH Glasgow Hip Fellowship (Arthroplasty and Hip Preservation)

Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

⌖ Glasgow, Scotland · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

DMDominic Meek, fellowship faculty at Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, NHS Greater Glasgow and ClydeDominic MeekMJMark Jenkinson, fellowship faculty at Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, NHS Greater Glasgow and ClydeMark Jenkinson

Duration6 or 12 months
FundingClinical Fellow, fixed term up to 12 months, 48 hours per week: £45,504 - £71,550, rota banded…
ExposureFull range of hip surgery: high-volume primary, complex primary and revision hip arthroplasty, metastatic tumour hip surgery, PJI…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Thackray Fellowship (Complex Primary and Revision Arthroplasty)

Wrightington Hospital, Wrightington Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS FT

⌖ Wigan, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

TBTim Board, fellowship faculty at Wrightington Hospital, Wrightington Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS FTTim BoardAGAnil Gambhir, fellowship faculty at Wrightington Hospital, Wrightington Wigan and Leigh Teaching Hospitals NHS FTAnil Gambhir

Duration12 months
FundingMT04 (£67,325) – MT05 (£76,582)
ExposurePost-CCT fellowship in complex primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty and non-arthroplasty hip surgery with Tim Board and…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

UHCW Lower Limb Reconstruction (Revision Arthroplasty) Fellowship

University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust

⌖ Coventry, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

PFPedro Foguet, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS TrustPedro FoguetRKRichard King, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS TrustRichard King+2 more

Duration12 months (BHS); six or twelve months (BASK register)
FundingBHS: MT05 (ST6-8 equivalent); BASK register: £62,000 per annum
ExposureHigh-volume complex primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty with three revision consultants and an active role in the Bone…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Worthing and Chichester Post-CCT Arthroplasty Fellowship

University Hospitals Sussex NHS FT (Worthing and Chichester hospitals)

⌖ Worthing, England · United Kingdom →

Program lead

NSNirav Shah, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals Sussex NHS FT (Worthing and Chichester hospitals)Nirav Shah

Duration12 months
FundingST8 / top-of-registrar salary plus on-call
ExposureUncemented and cemented primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty, periprosthetic fracture fixation/revision, arthroplasty…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

West Herts Lower Limb (Hip and Knee Arthroplasty) Fellowship

West Hertfordshire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (St Albans City Hospital)

⌖ St Albans, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

NDNeil DaviesTWTim Waters, fellowship faculty at West Hertfordshire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (St Albans City Hospital)Tim Waters+2 more

Duration12 months
FundingBASK register: SpR equivalent pay scale; most recent trust advert (Apr 2025): £49,559 to £64,288…
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue, trauma, elective, arthroplasty, revision arthroplasty and joint preservation, based at St…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

UCLH Hip and Knee Reconstruction Fellowship

University College London Hospitals / Princess Grace Hospital

⌖ London, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

FHFares Haddad, fellowship faculty at University College London Hospitals / Princess Grace HospitalFares HaddadRPRicci Plastow, fellowship faculty at University College London Hospitals / Princess Grace HospitalRicci Plastow

Duration12 months
FundingBHS: MT05 (ST3-8) equivalent; BASK register: remuneration 60,000
ExposureHip and knee reconstruction and sports injuries with Fares Haddad: three all-day double lists per week (6 elective lists), one…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Endeavour Fellowship (Lower Limb Arthroplasty)

James Cook University Hospital / Friarage Hospital, South Tees Hospitals NHS FT

⌖ Middlesbrough, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

SJSimon Jameson, fellowship faculty at James Cook University Hospital / Friarage Hospital, South Tees Hospitals NHS FTSimon JamesonPBPaul Baker, fellowship faculty at James Cook University Hospital / Friarage Hospital, South Tees Hospitals NHS FTPaul Baker+1 more

Duration12 months
FundingSalary field left blank on BHS listing
ExposureComplex primary and revision hip and knee arthroplasty at a nationally appointed Major Revision Centre, with exposure to young adult…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

ESOC Knee Fellowship (ESNEFT)

East Suffolk and North Essex NHS FT ('ESOC' as listed on BASK register)

⌖ Colchester, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

MBMark Bowditch, fellowship faculty at East Suffolk and North Essex NHS FT ('ESOC' as listed on BASK register)Mark BowditchRWRyan Wood, fellowship faculty at East Suffolk and North Essex NHS FT ('ESOC' as listed on BASK register)Ryan Wood

DurationTwelve months
FundingNot published
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue, arthroplasty and revision arthroplasty, in a Major Revision Centre-hosted fellowship led…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Leicester Revision Knee / Soft Tissue Knee Fellowship

University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

⌖ Leicester, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

UCUrjit Chatterji, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS TrustUrjit ChatterjiCEColin Esler, fellowship faculty at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS TrustColin Esler+6 more

DurationSix or twelve months
FundingNot published
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue; arthroplasty; revision arthroplasty. Setting: Major Revision Centre (MRC) hosted…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

St George's CCT Clinical Fellowship in Arthroplasty

St George's University Hospitals NHS FT / South West London Elective Orthopaedic Centre

⌖ London, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

PMPhilip Mitchell, fellowship faculty at St George's University Hospitals NHS FT / South West London Elective Orthopaedic CentrePhilip MitchellSASulaiman Alazzawi, fellowship faculty at St George's University Hospitals NHS FT / South West London Elective Orthopaedic CentreSulaiman Alazzawi+1 more

DurationSix or twelve months
FundingNot published
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: arthroplasty; revision arthroplasty. Setting: NHS.
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Imperial Hip Fellowship (Primary and Revision Hip)

Imperial hip service (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust; site not specified)

⌖ London, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

ALAngus Lewis, fellowship faculty at Imperial hip service (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust; site not specified)Angus LewisJDJas Daurka, fellowship faculty at Imperial hip service (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust; site not specified)Jas Daurka+2 more

Duration12 months
FundingListed as 'MH25(92)' (as published by BHS; grade not otherwise explained)
ExposureThree elective lists per week of primary and revision hip surgery, one weekly complex/regional-referral hip clinic, variable trauma…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Leeds Hip and Knee Unit Arthroplasty Fellowship

Leeds Hip and Knee Unit, Chapel Allerton Hospital, Leeds Teaching Hospitals

⌖ Leeds, England · United Kingdom →

Duration12 months (BHS); six or twelve months (BASK register)
FundingNot published
ExposureWeekly elective clinic and two weekly elective lists (primary/complex primary and predominantly revision hip and knee arthroplasty)…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

GKT Revision Arthroplasty Fellowship

Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust (listed as 'GKT')

⌖ London, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

DBDiane BackACAlex Charalambous

DurationSix or twelve months
FundingSenior Registrar
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: arthroplasty; revision arthroplasty; trauma. Setting: Major Revision Centre (MRC) hosted fellowship.
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Lister Post-CCT Senior Clinical Fellowship in Knee Surgery

Lister Hospital, East and North Hertfordshire Teaching NHS Trust

⌖ Stevenage, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

RTRaj Thakrar, fellowship faculty at Lister Hospital, East and North Hertfordshire Teaching NHS TrustRaj ThakrarMCMinhal Chatoo, fellowship faculty at Lister Hospital, East and North Hertfordshire Teaching NHS TrustMinhal Chatoo

DurationTwelve months
FundingSenior Registrar (BASK register)
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue, trauma, arthroplasty, revision arthroplasty and joint preservation, in an NHS setting.…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Norwich Knee Fellowship

Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Norwich, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

PHPhil Hopgood, fellowship faculty at Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation TrustPhil HopgoodNWNeil Walton+3 more

DurationSix or twelve months
FundingST8+ (BASK register)
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue, trauma, elective, arthroplasty, revision arthroplasty, trochleoplasty and MPFL…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Nottingham Hip & Knee Arthroplasty Fellowship

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, City Hospital Campus

⌖ Nottingham, England · United Kingdom →

Faculty & leadership

BBBenjamin Bloch, fellowship faculty at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, City Hospital CampusBenjamin BlochHMHosam Matar, fellowship faculty at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, City Hospital CampusHosam Matar+3 more

DurationSix or twelve months
FundingStR pay scale + banding for on-call (covering elective unit)
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: elective; revision arthroplasty; arthroplasty – usually combined with hip fellowship, standalone knee…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Hip & Knee

Oswestry Knee Fellowship

Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Oswestry, England · United Kingdom →

DurationTwelve months
FundingSpecialist trainee pay scale
ExposureBASK register surgical focus: soft tissue; elective; arthroplasty; joint preservation; patellofemoral. Setting: NHS.
DATA-LED DECISION GUIDE

How to compare Hip and Knee fellowships

Clarify whether the pathway is primarily arthroplasty, revision reconstruction, joint preservation, robotic surgery or a mixed lower-limb service before comparing headline volumes.

418canonical pathways
41countries represented
239funded or stipend-published
160funding not published
188active, upcoming or rolling
1–36 monthspublished duration range

Questions applicants should ask

  • What proportion is primary versus revision arthroplasty?
  • Are hip preservation or osteotomy cases included?
  • Does the published role include independent lists or supervised participation only?

Application routes and evidence

In the United States, adult reconstruction (hip and knee arthroplasty) fellowships are usually one year and recruit through the AAHKS fellowship match on SF Match.

Elsewhere, arthroplasty and lower limb fellowships are offered by hospitals and recognised through bodies such as the British Hip Society and BASK (UK), the AOA (Australia) and AO Recon, including posts open to international surgeons.

Also searched as: knee fellowship, hip fellowship, arthroplasty fellowship, adult reconstruction fellowship, joint replacement fellowship.

Distinguish adult reconstruction, joint preservation and sports knee pathways that share hip and knee labels. AAHKS and AOA sources support discovery; confirm curriculum and vacancy with the host.

Route guidance reviewed 12 October 2026. Programme verification dates are recorded separately.

Clinical, research and observer posts have different permissions. Published eligibility, salary, registration and visa terms must be confirmed with the host; a directory listing does not confirm a vacancy. Network hosts remain inside their parent pathway.

BEFORE YOU APPLY

Questions about Hip & Knee fellowships

What is a hip and knee fellowship?

A knee fellowship can focus on joint replacement and revision surgery, preservation, or sports and ligament surgery. This hip and knee directory covers the host-defined hip and knee pathways; knee arthroscopy and sports-focused training may instead sit within Sports Medicine. Confirm the named curriculum rather than assuming every knee programme covers all of these procedures.

How do I apply for a hip and knee fellowship in the United States?

In the United States, adult reconstruction (hip and knee arthroplasty) fellowships are usually one year and recruit through the AAHKS fellowship match on SF Match.

Can international surgeons apply for a hip and knee fellowship?

Elsewhere, arthroplasty and lower limb fellowships are offered by hospitals and recognised through bodies such as the British Hip Society and BASK (UK), the AOA (Australia) and AO Recon, including posts open to international surgeons. Each OrthoFellow profile records the published eligibility, registration and visa requirements for that programme.

Which countries offer the most hip and knee fellowships?

On OrthoFellow the countries with the most listed hip and knee pathways are United States (119), United Kingdom (55), Australia (51), India (50), Canada (22). Counts are canonical pathways in the directory, not vacancies; confirm availability with each host.

What types of Hip & Knee programmes are listed?

This directory separates clinical fellowships, research fellowships and observerships. The unfiltered Hip & Knee page currently contains 418 canonical pathways; network host centres remain inside their parent pathway.

Does a Hip & Knee fellowship guarantee hands-on operating?

No. Clinical participation depends on the published role, registration, credentialing, supervision and host policy. Treat exposure as observational when the official source does not confirm operative participation.

How should I confirm a Hip & Knee programme is open?

Check the status, deadline and verification date on the OrthoFellow profile, then reopen the official programme source. A historical or recurring programme is not treated as actively recruiting without current evidence.

Your choice: optional Google Analytics

Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional analytics

With your permission, Google Analytics helps us understand which types of pages are useful. We send page categories, not your search text, application notes or contact details. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow.

Current choice: Not chosen — analytics is off. Choices are remembered on this device for up to 180 days.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy