SUBSPECIALTY DIRECTORY

Spine Fellowships Worldwide

OrthoFellow lists 391 spine fellowship, research and observation pathways across 51 countries. Compare surgical scope, application status, eligibility and official programme sources.

CHOOSE PROGRAMME TYPE

How would you like to train?

Switch between clinical, research and observer pathways within Spine. Choose All programmes to compare every format together.

EVERY FORMAT

All programmes in Spine

391 sourced opportunities. Each card keeps its exact format, duration, host and official source visible.

✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — Hospital Italiano de Buenos Aires

Hospital Italiano de Buenos Aires

⌖ Buenos Aires · Argentina →

Duration4 to 12 weeks (AO Spine short-term fellowship range;…
FundingNo programme fee is stated. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and living…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at Hospital Italiano de Buenos Aires, Instituto Ortopedia y…
✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — HIGA San Martín de La Plata

HIGA San Martín de La Plata

⌖ La Plata, Buenos Aires Province · Argentina →

Program lead

PBPedro Bazán, fellowship faculty at HIGA San Martín de La PlataPedro Bazán

Duration4 to 12 weeks
FundingNo programme fee is stated by AO. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at HIGA San Martín de La Plata, Unidad de Patología Espinal (UPE). The…
✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — Hospital Churruca Visca

Hospital Churruca Visca

⌖ Buenos Aires · Argentina →

Program lead

MVMarcelo Valacco, fellowship faculty at Hospital Churruca ViscaMarcelo Valacco

Duration4 to 12 weeks
FundingNo programme fee is stated by AO. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at Hospital Churruca Visca, DEPARTMENT OF ORTHOPAEDICS. The host page…
✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — Hospital Nacional de Pediatría Juan P. Garrahan

Hospital Nacional de Pediatría Juan P. Garrahan

⌖ Buenos Aires · Argentina →

Duration4 to 12 weeks
FundingNo programme fee is stated by AO. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at Hospital Nacional de Pediatría Juan P. Garrahan, Spine Department.…
✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — Hospital Universitario Austral

Hospital Universitario Austral

⌖ Pilar, Buenos Aires Province · Argentina →

Duration4 to 12 weeks
FundingNo programme fee is stated by AO. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at Hospital Universitario Austral, Spine Surgery. The host page states…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Fellowship en Patología de la Columna Vertebral y Cirugía Espinal — Sanatorio Allende (Curso Superior de Posgrado / Fellowship)

Sanatorio Allende — Capacitación y Docencia / Universidad Católica de Córdoba

⌖ Córdoba, Córdoba · Argentina →

Program lead

DMDr. Marcos Georget, fellowship faculty at Sanatorio Allende — Capacitación y Docencia / Universidad Católica de CórdobaDr. Marcos Georget

Duration1 year
FundingNot published
ExposureOne-year post-residency 'Curso Superior de Posgrado – Fellowship' in spinal pathology and spine surgery, accredited by the…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Travelling Fellowship

Spine

APSS DePuy Synthes Spine Travelling Fellowship

Asia Pacific Spine Society host-centre network

⌖ Spine centres in three Asia-Pacific countries · Asia-Pacific →

Program lead

AHAPSS host-centre faculty across the selected itinerary

Duration3 weeks
FundingNot published
ExposureMulti-centre spine education tour; eight fellows are divided into two groups and each group visits centres in three Asia-Pacific…
✓ Verified 24 Sep 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

RCH Paediatric Spine Fellowship

The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne

⌖ Melbourne, Victoria · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

LDLeo Donnan, fellowship faculty at The Royal Children's Hospital MelbourneLeo DonnanMJMichael Johnson, fellowship faculty at The Royal Children's Hospital MelbourneMichael Johnson+1 more

Duration12 months
FundingStipend included; amount not published in the cited profile
ExposureApproximately 75% paediatric spine training plus 25% general paediatric orthopaedics, including scoliosis, kyphosis, lordosis, spine…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Children's Hospital at Westmead Paediatric Spine Fellowship

The Children's Hospital at Westmead

⌖ Sydney, New South Wales · Australia →

Program lead

ACAndrew Cree, fellowship faculty at The Children's Hospital at WestmeadAndrew Cree

Duration12 months
FundingMedical Salaries (State) Award; the cited AOA profile published AUD 139,187 per annum as of 1…
ExposurePaediatric and adult spine care across trauma, infection, deformity and degenerative disease, combining theory, teaching, clinical…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Geoff Askin Research/Clinical Fellowship in Spinal Surgery

Queensland Children’s Hospital / Princess Alexandra Hospital

⌖ Brisbane, Queensland · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

GAGeoffrey Askin, fellowship faculty at Queensland Children’s Hospital / Princess Alexandra HospitalGeoffrey AskinRLRobert Labrom, fellowship faculty at Queensland Children’s Hospital / Princess Alexandra HospitalRobert Labrom+1 more

Duration12 months
FundingThe AOA programme summary publishes: AUD 240,000 per annum including superannuation, leave,…
ExposurePaediatric spinal deformity, trauma and tumour surgery with an adult spinal-trauma secondment at Princess Alexandra Hospital
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Macquarie Combined Orthopaedic & Neurosurgery Complex Spine Fellowship

Macquarie University Hospital / NSW Spine Specialists and partner hospitals

⌖ Sydney, New South Wales · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

KSKevin Seex, fellowship faculty at Macquarie University Hospital / NSW Spine Specialists and partner hospitalsKevin SeexBHBrian Hsu, fellowship faculty at Macquarie University Hospital / NSW Spine Specialists and partner hospitalsBrian Hsu+3 more

Duration6, 12 or 24 months; the AOA–NSA funded position is initially…
FundingAUD 100,000 for the 12-month AOA–NSA funded position
ExposureMore than 200 spinal operations, including adult and paediatric deformity, tumour, degenerative disease, endoscopic surgery,…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

St Vincent's Melbourne PFET Spine Fellowship

St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne / St Vincent's Private Hospital

⌖ Melbourne, Victoria · Australia →

Program lead

THTiew Han, fellowship faculty at St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne / St Vincent's Private HospitalTiew Han

Duration12 months
FundingAnnual stipend of more than AUD 75,000 in the 2025 AOA–NSA profile
ExposureComplex fixation and decompression for degenerative disease, trauma and spinal tumour across public and private practice
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Westmead Adult Spine Fellowship

Westmead Hospital / Westmead Private Hospital

⌖ Sydney, New South Wales · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

AKAndrew Kam, fellowship faculty at Westmead Hospital / Westmead Private HospitalAndrew KamGDGordon Dandie, fellowship faculty at Westmead Hospital / Westmead Private HospitalGordon Dandie+2 more

Duration12 months
FundingSalary per the NSW Staff Specialists Award 2019; no private practice privileges
ExposureDegenerative cervical and lumbar disease, trauma, tumour, metabolic bone disease, infection, congenital conditions, failed-back…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

AIMS Spine Surgical Fellowship

Spine Ortho / Australian Institute for Musculoskeletal Science

⌖ Melbourne, Victoria · Australia →

Program lead

JCJohn Choi, fellowship faculty at Spine Ortho / Australian Institute for Musculoskeletal ScienceJohn Choi

Duration6 or 12 months
FundingHistorical official figure: AUD 90,000 per annum as of 2018, with possible additional private…
ExposureDaily theatre, clinic and ward activity with a typical week of 5–6 operating sessions, 3–4 clinics and one research session; the…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Austin Health Clinical and Research Spine Fellowship

Austin Health / University of Melbourne Spinal Surgery Unit

⌖ Melbourne, Victoria · Australia →

Program lead

GMGerald M.Y. Quan, fellowship faculty at Austin Health / University of Melbourne Spinal Surgery UnitGerald M.Y. Quan

Duration12 months
FundingAUD 80,000 in the detailed 2025 AOA–NSA profile Conflicting official information: Same official…
ExposureComprehensive spine care with orthopaedic and neurosurgical teams. The February 2022 position description outlines approximately…
✓ Verified 14 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Macquarie Orthopaedic Spine Fellowship (NSW17253)

Macquarie University Hospital / Sydney Adventist Hospital

⌖ Sydney, New South Wales · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

DSDavor Saravanja, fellowship faculty at Macquarie University Hospital / Sydney Adventist HospitalDavor SaravanjaBHBrian Hsu, fellowship faculty at Macquarie University Hospital / Sydney Adventist HospitalBrian Hsu+3 more

Duration6-12 month terms, with a strong preference for 12-month…
FundingHistorical information only: AOA 2017 summary lists up to $80,000 per annum before taxes and…
ExposureClinical fellowship focused on pre-operative, operative and non-operative management of complex spinal deformity and degenerative…
✓ Verified 15 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

NSW Spine Specialists Adult & Paediatric Spine Fellowship (NSW21801)

NSW Spine Specialists / Norwest Private Hospital and partner hospitals

⌖ Norwest, New South Wales · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

BHBrian Hsu, fellowship faculty at NSW Spine Specialists / Norwest Private Hospital and partner hospitalsBrian HsuBSBhisham Singh, fellowship faculty at NSW Spine Specialists / Norwest Private Hospital and partner hospitalsBhisham Singh

Duration6, 12 or 24 months
FundingAU$100,000 per annum (AOA website summary); the practice page does not state a stipend
ExposureHands-on clinical-surgical training in degenerative spine, adult and paediatric deformity, endoscopic spine surgery,…
✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — John Hunter Hospital

John Hunter Hospital

⌖ New Lambton Heights, New South Wales · Australia →

Program lead

MHMitchell Hansen, fellowship faculty at John Hunter HospitalMitchell Hansen

Duration4 to 12 weeks
FundingNo programme fee is stated by AO. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at John Hunter Hospital, Department of Neurosurgery and Department of…
✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — Neurospine Institute Pty Ltd

Neurospine Institute Pty Ltd

⌖ Murdoch, Western Australia · Australia →

Program lead

PTPaul Taylor, fellowship faculty at Neurospine Institute Pty LtdPaul Taylor

Duration4 to 12 weeks
FundingNo programme fee is stated by AO. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at Neurospine Institute Pty Ltd, Neurospine Institute. The host page…
✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — Royal Adelaide Hospital

Royal Adelaide Hospital

⌖ Adelaide, South Australia · Australia →

Program lead

ASAaron Stevenson, fellowship faculty at Royal Adelaide HospitalAaron Stevenson

Duration4 to 12 weeks
FundingNo programme fee is stated by AO. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at Royal Adelaide Hospital, Spinal Unit. The host page states that AO…
✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026
Observership

Spine

AO Spine Fellowship — Spine Ortho Clinic

Spine Ortho Clinic

⌖ Mornington, Victoria · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

JYJohn Yun Seo Choi, fellowship faculty at Spine Ortho ClinicJohn Yun Seo ChoiJCJohn Choi, fellowship faculty at Spine Ortho ClinicJohn Choi

Duration4 to 12 weeks
FundingNo programme fee is stated by AO. AO pays the fellow a small stipend toward accommodation and…
ExposureShort-term AO Spine fellowship (observership-style placement) at Spine Ortho Clinic, Spine Ortho Clinic. The host page states that…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Royal North Shore Hospital Spine Fellowship

Royal North Shore Hospital

⌖ Sydney, New South Wales · Australia →

Program lead

RNRoyal North Shore Hospital spine unit

Duration12 months
FundingNSW Health salaried employee position; current salary is published with each recruitment round
ExposureMore than 400 operations annually across adult deformity, trauma, tumour, infection and degenerative spine care, with clinical and…
✓ Verified 14 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Clinical and Research Fellowship in Spinal Surgery (QLD1120)

QCOS Spine / The Wesley Hospital

⌖ Brisbane, Queensland · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

RLRobert Labrom, fellowship faculty at QCOS Spine / The Wesley HospitalRobert LabromSGSimon Gatehouse, fellowship faculty at QCOS Spine / The Wesley HospitalSimon Gatehouse+3 more

Duration6 or 12 months (negotiable)
FundingAUD 100,000 plus potential overtime per annum; sponsored via The Wesley Research Fund…
ExposureAdult acute and chronic spine (trauma, infection, neoplasia, degenerative) at Princess Alexandra Hospital with a weekly all-day list…
✓ Verified 3 Oct 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

NeuroSpine Institute WA Spine Surgical Fellowship

NeuroSpine Institute WA

⌖ Perth, Western Australia · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

PTPaul Taylor, fellowship faculty at NeuroSpine Institute WAPaul TaylorMKMichael Kern, fellowship faculty at NeuroSpine Institute WAMichael Kern+2 more

Duration6 or 12 months
FundingConflicting official information: the NeuroSpine Institute careers page says reasonable…
ExposureMore than 1,500 open operations annually across minimally invasive decompression and fixation, navigation, LLIF, OLIF, ALIF, TLIF,…
✓ Verified 23 Sep 2026
Clinical Fellowship

Spine

Keyhole Spine Centre Minimally Invasive Spine Fellowship

Keyhole Spine Centre / Mater Centre for Neurosciences

⌖ Brisbane, Queensland · Australia →

Faculty & leadership

RCRobert Campbell, fellowship faculty at Keyhole Spine Centre / Mater Centre for NeurosciencesRobert CampbellMWMartin Wood, fellowship faculty at Keyhole Spine Centre / Mater Centre for NeurosciencesMartin Wood+5 more

DurationNot published
FundingNot published
ExposureDedicated minimally invasive and keyhole spinal surgery training within a seven-surgeon neurosurgical team; the public page does not…
DATA-LED DECISION GUIDE

How to compare Spine fellowships

Distinguish degenerative, deformity, trauma, tumour and paediatric exposure, and confirm how orthopaedic and neurosurgical services share cases. A spine fellowship title alone does not define operative responsibility.

391canonical pathways
51countries represented
272funded or stipend-published
106funding not published
221active, upcoming or rolling
1–36 monthspublished duration range

Questions applicants should ask

  • What is the adult, paediatric and deformity case mix?
  • How are orthopaedic and neurosurgical rotations organised?
  • Which procedures require local registration or additional credentialing?
SPINE EVIDENCE MAP

Application evidence, without guessing

OrthoFellow separates a live application form, a future published cycle, explicit rolling recruitment and simple direct enquiry. Historical dates never become a new deadline automatically.

79

Active application

A current route or deadline is supported by the cited source.

96

Upcoming cycle

A future opening or application window is explicitly published.

46

Explicitly rolling

Only programmes whose source states continuous or rolling applications.

68

Availability unconfirmed

The programme exists, but current recruitment evidence is incomplete.

Training formats represented

255 clinical fellowships and 135 observership or education-centre visits are indexed. An observership is not presented as independent operative training.

Source and application coverage

388 profiles link to a programme-specific or first-party programme page, while 361 publish a direct application or explicitly instructed route.

How to interpret missing fields

“Not published” means the reviewed source did not state the fact. It does not mean no salary, funding, visa support or clinical opportunity exists.

Application routes and evidence

The NASS surgical spine directory lists programmes participating in the Spine Fellowship Match on SF Match. Confirm each host's orthopaedic or neurosurgical entry requirements. NASS interventional spine and musculoskeletal medicine (ISMM) is a separate non-surgical pathway with its own match.

Internationally, spine fellowships run through university hospitals and networks such as AO Spine, EUROSPINE and the Asia Pacific Spine Society, including short-term fellowships open to surgeons from other countries.

Also searched as: spine surgery fellowship, orthopaedic spine fellowship, spine deformity fellowship.

Compare surgical spine, research and observership roles separately. Non-operative or interventional training is listed under Pain Intervention. Ask about degenerative disease, deformity, trauma, tumour, adult and paediatric exposure; the service's case mix does not guarantee a fellow's operative access.

Route guidance reviewed 10 October 2026. Programme verification dates are recorded separately.

Clinical, research and observer posts have different permissions. Published eligibility, salary, registration and visa terms must be confirmed with the host; a directory listing does not confirm a vacancy. Network hosts remain inside their parent pathway.

BEFORE YOU APPLY

Questions about Spine fellowships

What is a spine fellowship?

A spine fellowship provides advanced training or research in spinal conditions. Surgical spine programmes may accept orthopaedic or neurosurgical graduates, depending on the host. Compare adult and paediatric deformity, degenerative disease, trauma and tumour exposure separately; interventional spine medicine is a different, non-surgical pathway.

How do I apply for a spine fellowship in the United States?

The NASS surgical spine directory lists programmes participating in the Spine Fellowship Match on SF Match. Confirm each host's orthopaedic or neurosurgical entry requirements. NASS interventional spine and musculoskeletal medicine (ISMM) is a separate non-surgical pathway with its own match.

Can international surgeons apply for a spine fellowship?

Internationally, spine fellowships run through university hospitals and networks such as AO Spine, EUROSPINE and the Asia Pacific Spine Society, including short-term fellowships open to surgeons from other countries. Each OrthoFellow profile records the published eligibility, registration and visa requirements for that programme.

Which countries offer the most spine fellowships?

On OrthoFellow the countries with the most listed spine pathways are United States (96), India (48), United Kingdom (32), Australia (26), Canada (15). Counts are canonical pathways in the directory, not vacancies; confirm availability with each host.

What types of Spine programmes are listed?

This directory separates clinical fellowships, research fellowships and observerships. The unfiltered Spine page currently contains 391 canonical pathways; network host centres remain inside their parent pathway.

Does a Spine fellowship guarantee hands-on operating?

No. Clinical participation depends on the published role, registration, credentialing, supervision and host policy. Treat exposure as observational when the official source does not confirm operative participation.

How should I confirm a Spine programme is open?

Check the status, deadline and verification date on the OrthoFellow profile, then reopen the official programme source. A historical or recurring programme is not treated as actively recruiting without current evidence.

Your choice: optional Google Analytics

Help us understand which pages are useful. Google Analytics stays off unless you allow it. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow. Privacy policy

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional analytics

With your permission, Google Analytics helps us understand which types of pages are useful. We send page categories, not your search text, application notes or contact details. Declining does not affect access to OrthoFellow.

Current choice: Not chosen — analytics is off. Choices are remembered on this device for up to 180 days.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy