✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
The AOA programme summary publishes: AU$216,339.00 Post Grad. Confirm the current appointed-year salary, award and benefits with the host.
Deadline
The position is advertised annually around February or March; the next vacancy and closing date are not yet confirmed
Duration
12 months
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
25 Aug 2026
Duration · published12 months
Clinical exposureMajor trauma, complex and routine fracture surgery, daily trauma operating-list leadership, teaching and clinical research
Funding · publishedThe AOA programme summary publishes: AU$216,339.00 Post Grad. Confirm the current appointed-year salary, award and benefits with the host.
DestinationAustralia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed orthopaedic fellowship examination or equivalent
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
The AOA programme summary publishes: AU$216,339.00 Post Grad. Confirm the current appointed-year salary, award and benefits with the host.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
62% of core application fields verified
Checked 25 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-21. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ funding✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · current availability unconfirmed— required documents · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineThe position is advertised annually around February or March; the next vacancy and closing date are not yet confirmed
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleApply only through I Work for NSW during the annual February / March advertisement; the programme states that applications outside the advertised period are not considered
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed orthopaedic fellowship examination or equivalent
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A 12-month clinical and research trauma fellowship at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. The official AOA profile publishes the stipend, operative and on-call responsibilities, faculty, eligibility and annual NSW Health recruitment route; no live vacancy is confirmed outside the annual advertisement.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital's current orthopaedic research department covers trauma, oncology and arthroplasty; its published team includes the fellowship's chief supervisor and named faculty.
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jeffrey Petchell is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jeffrey Petchell is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
MH
Faculty: Mark Horsley
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Mark Horsley is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Mark Horsley is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
BF
Faculty: Brett Fritsch
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Brett Fritsch is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Brett Fritsch is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Richard Boyle is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Richard Boyle is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
CS
Faculty: Chris Smithers
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Chris Smithers is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Chris Smithers is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Sanjeev Gupta is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Sanjeev Gupta is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
MG
Faculty: Maurice Guzman
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Maurice Guzman is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Maurice Guzman is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
DF
Faculty: Daniel Franks
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Daniel Franks is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Daniel Franks is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
VS
Faculty: Verinder Sidhu
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Verinder Sidhu is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Verinder Sidhu is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
IH
Faculty: Ian Harris
Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital / Institute for Musculoskeletal Research
Clinical focus
Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Ian Harris is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Clinical/Research Fellowship in Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery RPAH (NSW1426). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Trauma, Pelvis & Acetabulum training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Ian Harris is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
AOA Trauma-filter identity checked 2026-08-25; source summary last updated date not displayed.