Vijay D. Shetty — SAANVI Orthopaedics / SICOT Hip & Knee Research Fellowship Primary source reviewedResearch FellowshipClosed
Research Fellowship

SAANVI Orthopaedics / SICOT Hip & Knee Research Fellowship

SAANVI Orthopaedics

Mumbai · India directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Vijay D. Shetty

Profile completeness86%
Comprehensive · Missing commencement date, faculty profile
Primary programme source linked Dated source review current Current cycle evidenced Faculty identity sourced Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
SAANVI provides a stipend for local expenses; SICOT covers eligible international travel and accommodation up to EUR 2,500, or domestic accommodation up to EUR 1,000
Deadline
26 May 2026 — closed; monitor the official page for the next call
Duration
3 months for international fellows; 12 months for domestic fellows
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
12 Aug 2026
Duration · published3 months for international fellows; 12 months for domestic fellows
Clinical exposureFull-time adult hip-and-knee clinical research with literature review, data management, project delivery, conference presentation and manuscript preparation under consultant supervision
Funding · publishedSAANVI provides a stipend for local expenses; SICOT covers eligible international travel and accommodation up to EUR 2,500, or domestic accommodation up to EUR 1,000
DestinationIndia
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

Not published

International applicant eligibility

The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.

Published by official source

Required training level

SICOT membership dues paid for the application year and preceding year · Age 45 or under at fellowship commencement · At least three years of specialised orthopaedic training · Health insurance and a recent medical check-up

Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

Not published

Medical registration

Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

No licensing-examination information is published.

Published by official source

Language requirements

Proof of English level is required; the programme does not publish a minimum test score.

Not published

Visa or work authorisation

Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.

Published by official source

Funding availability

SAANVI provides a stipend for local expenses; SICOT covers eligible international travel and accommodation up to EUR 2,500, or domestic accommodation up to EUR 1,000

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

76% of core application fields verified

Checked 12 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-08. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

programme titleinstitution / departmentcity and countryprogramme classificationsubspecialtycurrent status evidencedurationpositionsfundingbenefitsaccommodation / relocationeligibilitylanguagedeadlineapplication processrequired documentsofficial contactfacultyverified faculty photographofficial sourceaccreditation / organisation sourceverification datecommencement / intake · queued for source reviewinternational eligibility · queued for source reviewRegistration information not published · queued for source reviewvisa / work authorisation · queued for source reviewapplication portal · queued for source reviewVerified institution logo not available · queued for source reviewinstitutional source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadline26 May 2026 — closed; monitor the official page for the next call
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleAnnual SICOT call; current published cycle is closed
Official contactVijay D. Shetty, Fellowship Coordinator

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • SICOT membership dues paid for the application year and preceding year
  • Age 45 or under at fellowship commencement
  • At least three years of specialised orthopaedic training
  • Health insurance and a recent medical check-up
Registration, licence & examinations

AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Visa / work authorisation

Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.

Application documents
  • Passport or birth-certificate copy
  • Current CV including logbook, academic record, professional experience and fields of interest
  • Two recommendation letters, including one from the current Head of Department dated within six months
  • Proof of English level
  • Motivation letter
  • Recent medical check-up and vaccination record

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A funded adult hip-and-knee research fellowship in Mumbai, with a three-month international track and a twelve-month domestic track. The current 2026 call is closed, but the programme remains useful to shortlist for the next SICOT cycle.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Structured project targets, consultant supervision and opportunities to present research at national and international meetings.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION

Published housing information

✓ Official source mentions accommodation

Eligible accommodation costs are covered within the SICOT ceiling published for the fellow's category; applicants should confirm booking arrangements and reimbursement rules before travel.

Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

Listed program lead

VDVijay D. Shetty, fellowship faculty at SAANVI Orthopaedics

Program lead: Vijay D. Shetty

Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
SAANVI Orthopaedics
Clinical focus
Research training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Vijay D. Shetty is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for SAANVI Orthopaedics / SICOT Hip & Knee Research Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Research training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Vijay D. Shetty is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

PROGRAM HISTORY

Published fellowship history

The programme is published by SICOT as an annual fellowship funded jointly by SICOT and SAANVI Orthopaedics.

APPLICANT PROFILE

SICOT members aged 45 or under with at least three years of specialised orthopaedic training

LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS

Published language requirement

Proof of English level is required; the programme does not publish a minimum test score.

OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.