✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
Requirements published
Funding
AO provides travel-organisation support and local accommodation; the official page does not state a cash stipend
Deadline
AO CMF: 24 August 2026 · AO Trauma: 28 September 2026
Duration
3 months, full-time and on site
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
15 Aug 2026
Duration · published3 months, full-time and on site
Clinical exposureClinical-study protocol development, research ethics, project and data management, statistics, systematic review and meta-analysis, data presentation and manuscript preparation
Funding · publishedAO provides travel-organisation support and local accommodation; the official page does not state a cash stipend
DestinationSwitzerland
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Current AO Trauma or AO CMF membership · Medical degree with some orthopaedic training, or a dental diploma · Preferably at least one peer-reviewed clinical investigation · Able to dedicate at least 10% of professional time to clinical research · Ability to work in a team · For AO Trauma: completed AO Principles Course and a fracture or trauma-care project
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
Proficiency in spoken and written English is required; no formal test score is published.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
AO provides travel-organisation support and local accommodation; the official page does not state a cash stipend
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
72% of core application fields verified
Checked 15 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-11. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ funding✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ language✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Faculty information requires reverification · queued for source review— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— institutional source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineAO CMF: 24 August 2026 · AO Trauma: 28 September 2026
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleSubmit the AO application package through the official online portal
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Current AO Trauma or AO CMF membership
Medical degree with some orthopaedic training, or a dental diploma
Preferably at least one peer-reviewed clinical investigation
Able to dedicate at least 10% of professional time to clinical research
Ability to work in a team
For AO Trauma: completed AO Principles Course and a fracture or trauma-care project
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Signed application form
Fellowship Project Outline
Curriculum vitae
Publication and major-lecture list
Medical-school diploma copy
AO Principles Course certificate for AO Trauma applicants
Two recommendation letters
Recent passport-size photograph
Ethical approval and English translation when bringing an existing database
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A three-month full-time Swiss clinical-research fellowship for AO Trauma and AO CMF members. The official current call publishes detailed eligibility, documents, accommodation support, direct contact and separate 2026 deadlines for the two clinical divisions.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Individual coaching by the AO ITC Clinical Evidence team, with the goal of turning the fellow's data or research idea into a rigorous protocol, analysis or peer-reviewed publication.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Local accommodation is provided by AO; room type and monetary value are not published.
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About AO Innovation Translation Center — Clinical Evidence
AO ITC Clinical Evidence in Dübendorf trains fellows across the full research pathway from question and protocol to analysis, presentation and manuscript submission.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Current AO Trauma or AO CMF members with a medical or dental qualification and an active clinical-research interest
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
Proficiency in spoken and written English is required; no formal test score is published.
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.