✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current✓ Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Standard pathway publishes JPY 362,000 monthly maintenance, JPY 200,000 settling-in allowance, round-trip airfare and overseas travel insurance; terms vary by pathway
Deadline
25 September 2026 at 17:00 JST for the FY2027 Short-term (PE) first call; host-institution internal deadlines may be earlier
Duration
12–24 months for Standard; 1–12 months for Short-term (PE)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Last checked
28 Aug 2026
Duration · published12–24 months for Standard; 1–12 months for Short-term (PE)
Clinical exposureCandidate-defined orthopaedic or musculoskeletal research at an eligible Japanese host institution; JSPS accepts all humanities, social-science and natural-science fields and does not provide a preselected orthopaedic placement
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
The JSPS Short-term PA pathway specifically includes researchers from ASEAN and Africa
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Citizenship of a country with diplomatic relations with Japan, with JSPS treatment extended to Taiwanese and Palestinian researchers · Doctoral degree obtained within the published six-year window or expected before fellowship commencement · Eligible Japanese host researcher and institution · No previous started award under the listed JSPS postdoctoral fellowship pathways
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Standard pathway publishes JPY 362,000 monthly maintenance, JPY 200,000 settling-in allowance, round-trip airfare and overseas travel insurance; terms vary by pathway
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 28 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-24. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ deadline✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— Language requirement not published · not published by the cited official source— Registration information not published · not applicable to this pathway— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Faculty information requires reverification · not applicable to this pathway— Verified faculty photograph not available · not applicable to this pathway— institutional source · not applicable to this pathway
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline25 September 2026 at 17:00 JST for the FY2027 Short-term (PE) first call; host-institution internal deadlines may be earlier
Commencing dateFirst FY2027 round: arrival from 1 April to 30 September 2027
Application route / cycleFY2027 Short-term (PE) first call is open; the Japanese host researcher submits through the host institution, whose internal deadline may be more than one month earlier than the JSPS deadline
Official contactJSPS Overseas Fellowship Divisionpostdoc-short@jsps.go.jp; postdoc-standard@jsps.go.jp+81 3 3263 3444
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Citizenship of a country with diplomatic relations with Japan, with JSPS treatment extended to Taiwanese and Palestinian researchers
Doctoral degree obtained within the published six-year window or expected before fellowship commencement
Eligible Japanese host researcher and institution
No previous started award under the listed JSPS postdoctoral fellowship pathways
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
Host-researcher electronic application
Candidate Form 2
One-page recommendation letter in English or Japanese
Institutional approval before JSPS submission
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
An active national research-funding pathway that can support an orthopaedic or musculoskeletal project once the applicant secures an eligible Japanese host. The FY2027 Short-term first call closes 25 September 2026; this is research training, not a preassigned clinical fellowship or medical-licensing route.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Funded cooperative research with a Japanese host, airfare and insurance, maintenance support and access to a separate Grant-in-Aid application for eligible cooperative-research expenses
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Eligible Japanese university or research institution selected with a host researcher
A detailed institutional profile has not yet been published by OrthoFellow for this listing. Use the official host or program link to review the hospital, university, training sites and facilities directly.
The cited evidence does not provide a programme-specific faculty roster that OrthoFellow can safely publish. Open the official source or submit an institutional correction; names and portraits are never inferred from department membership.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
International postdoctoral researchers who first secure an eligible Japanese host researcher for a defined cooperative research project
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
The JSPS Short-term PA pathway specifically includes researchers from ASEAN and Africa
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.