12 months; six-month rotations at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital and Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
1 Oct 2026
Duration · published12 months; six-month rotations at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital and Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
Clinical exposureCombined orthopaedic and neurosurgical advanced spinal-surgery training across the breadth of spinal surgery, rotating between the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital and Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
Funding · not publishedNot published in the reviewed sources
DestinationUnited Kingdom
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
—Not published
International applicant eligibility
The cited source does not explicitly confirm international-applicant eligibility.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Post-CCT or equivalent in neurosurgery or orthopaedics
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published in the reviewed sources
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
48% of core application fields verified
Checked 1 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ eligibility✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— positions · queued for source review— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Funding information not published · queued for source review— benefits · queued for source review— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— international eligibility · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— application portal · not applicable to this pathway— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— accreditation / organisation source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleContact the named consultants. The official page's recruitment notes refer to fellowships starting in 2024 and 2025, so the next intake needs confirming.
Official contactMr Navin Furtado, Mr Andraay Leung and Mr Matt Newton-EdeNavin.Furtado@uhb.nhs.uk; Andraay.Leung@uhb.nhs.uk; Matthew.NewtonEde@nhs.net
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Post-CCT or equivalent in neurosurgery or orthopaedics
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A 12-month advanced spinal-surgery fellowship for post-CCT neurosurgery or orthopaedic surgeons, split between the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital and Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. The next intake should be confirmed with the named consultants.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Royal Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust / Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham
The Royal Orthopaedic Hospital and Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham jointly run a 12-month combined orthopaedic and neurosurgical spinal fellowship with six-month placements at each hospital.
Fellowship contact consultantOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
ROH / QEHB combined spinal fellowship
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Navin Furtado is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship contact consultant for ROH and QEHB Combined Spinal Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Navin Furtado is listed by the official programme source as fellowship contact consultant. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Fellowship contact consultantOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
ROH / QEHB combined spinal fellowship
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Andraay Leung is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship contact consultant for ROH and QEHB Combined Spinal Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Andraay Leung is listed by the official programme source as fellowship contact consultant. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Fellowship contact consultantOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
ROH / QEHB combined spinal fellowship
Clinical focus
Spine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Matt Newton-Ede is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship contact consultant for ROH and QEHB Combined Spinal Surgery Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Spine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Matt Newton-Ede is listed by the official programme source as fellowship contact consultant. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
PROGRAM HISTORY
Published fellowship history
The University Hospitals Birmingham spinal-fellowship page reviewed 1 October 2026 describes recruitment for 2024 and 2025 starts; no later intake was confirmed.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Post-CCT or equivalent trainees in neurosurgery or orthopaedics