Home›Sports Medicine›United Kingdom
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Sports Medicine →

Sheffield Post-CCT Knee Preservation Fellowship

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

⌖ Sheffield · United Kingdom directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Tim Hampton / Duncan Hancock / James Stoddard

Profile completeness92%
Comprehensive · Missing faculty profile
✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
NHS post-CCT clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.
Deadline
The published recruitment closed 19 April 2026.
Duration
6 or 12 months by mutual agreement in the published advert
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
2026-10-01
Duration · published6 or 12 months by mutual agreement in the published advert
Clinical exposureKnee preservation including cartilage surgery, ACI, fresh osteochondral allograft, meniscal allograft transplantation, complex osteotomy, ligament reconstruction, multiligament knee injury, patellofemoral instability and partial/total knee arthroplasty.
Funding · publishedNHS post-CCT clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.
DestinationUnited Kingdom
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

Indonesian applicants should confirm GMC registration route, FRCS/equivalence expectations, English-language evidence, visa sponsorship and whether the post is suitable for overseas-trained surgeons before applying.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

FRCS (Tr&Orth) or equivalent · Post-CCT or equivalent level · Full GMC registration with licence to practise

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

Full GMC registration with licence to practise is required; the advert states employer sponsorship is required when the appointee does not have UK right of residence.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

✓Published by official source

Language requirements

English-language and communication requirements are handled through GMC registration and the employing NHS trust; confirm any IELTS/OET route directly with the host.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

UK right-to-work and, where needed, Skilled Worker sponsorship are employer- and applicant-specific; confirm with the recruiting NHS trust before applying.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

NHS post-CCT clinical fellow employment; salary not visible in the indexed advert summary.

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

69% of core application fields verified

Checked 2026-10-01. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-03-30. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ institutional source✓ verification date— Current availability unconfirmed · current availability unconfirmed— accommodation / relocation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · historical evidence only— Verified faculty photograph not available · not published by the cited official source— Official programme page requires reverification · historical evidence only— accreditation / organisation source · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineThe published recruitment closed 19 April 2026.
Commencing dateFebruary 2027 or August 2027 in the published recruitment
Application route / cycleClosed NHS Jobs advert retained for future-cycle planning; monitor Sheffield Teaching Hospitals/NHS Jobs for the next knee preservation call.
Official contactJames E. StoddardJames.Stoddard@nhs.net+44 114 226 6256

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • FRCS (Tr&Orth) or equivalent
  • Post-CCT or equivalent level
  • Full GMC registration with licence to practise
Registration, licence & examinations

Full GMC registration with licence to practise is required; the advert states employer sponsorship is required when the appointee does not have UK right of residence.

Visa / work authorisation

UK right-to-work and, where needed, Skilled Worker sponsorship are employer- and applicant-specific; confirm with the recruiting NHS trust before applying.

Application documents

CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

A post-CCT knee preservation fellowship in Sheffield with unusually detailed cartilage, osteotomy, ligament and patellofemoral exposure. The published 2027 starts are tied to a closed 2026 recruitment advert.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

The advert publishes a salaried full-time NHS appointment; programme-specific accommodation and relocation terms are not stated.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION

Published housing information

✓ Official source mentions accommodation

Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: The advert publishes a salaried full-time NHS appointment; programme-specific accommodation and relocation terms are not stated.

Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

3 listed faculty members

THInstitution associated with Tim Hampton

Program lead: Tim Hampton

Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Tim Hampton is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for Sheffield Post-CCT Knee Preservation Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Tim Hampton is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

DHInstitution associated with Duncan Hancock

Faculty: Duncan Hancock

Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Duncan Hancock is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Sheffield Post-CCT Knee Preservation Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Duncan Hancock is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

JSInstitution associated with James Stoddard

Faculty: James Stoddard

Teaching faculty / co-leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical focus
Sports Medicine training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

James Stoddard is listed in the cited programme evidence as teaching faculty / co-leadership for Sheffield Post-CCT Knee Preservation Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Sports Medicine training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

James Stoddard is listed by the official programme source as teaching faculty / co-leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

PROGRAM HISTORY

Published fellowship history

The named NHS Jobs advert was reviewed on 1 October 2026 for employment benefits, application documents, contact details, accommodation and accreditation evidence. Published facts were added; absent fields received an explicit editorial disposition. The vacancy dates remain historical where the advert is closed.

LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS

Published language requirement

English-language and communication requirements are handled through GMC registration and the employing NHS trust; confirm any IELTS/OET route directly with the host.

OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

Indonesian applicants should confirm GMC registration route, FRCS/equivalence expectations, English-language evidence, visa sponsorship and whether the post is suitable for overseas-trained surgeons before applying.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy