Faculty / program leadership: Darren Lui · Jason Bernard · Tim Bishop
Profile completeness89%
Comprehensive · Source does not publish funding, application deadline
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Not published
Deadline
Not published
Duration
12 months (fixed term)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureComplex and reconstructive spine surgery, supervised mainly by orthopaedic complex spinal surgeons with major interests in paediatric and adult deformity, with considerable overlap with the neurosurgical complex spine surgeons. Covers trauma, metastatic disease, infection, degenerative disease and adult and paediatric deformity at the Tooting site. Research leading to peer-reviewed publication is expected.
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
Not published
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not stated in the advert text reviewed
—Not published
Language
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not stated in the advert text reviewed
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY38% of core application fields verifiedChecked 3 Oct 2026 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— duration · historical evidence only— positions · historical evidence only— commencement / intake · historical evidence only— Funding information not published · historical evidence only— benefits · historical evidence only— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · historical evidence only— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · historical evidence only— application process · historical evidence only— required documents · historical evidence only— application portal · historical evidence only— official contact · historical evidence only— Faculty information requires reverification · historical evidence only— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing date2024 intake (advert posted 30 August 2023); exact start date not stated
Application route / cycleOnline applications only, through NHS Jobs; the advert may close early once enough applications are received. Dated: the 2023 advert (2024 intake) is closed.
A 12-month post-CCT complex and reconstructive spine fellowship focused on adult and paediatric deformity, trauma, tumour and infection, with a research expectation.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Close links with the neurosurgical unit and opportunities to work with neurosurgical colleagues.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Spinal Surgery, St George's University Hospitals NHS FT
St George's University Hospitals, Tooting, is a South West London teaching hospital and Major Trauma Centre. Its complex spine work spans the newly amalgamated orthopaedic and neurosurgical spinal teams.