Not published on the fellowship page. (The department links to UI Health Care GME resources, whose 2026-2027 stipend schedule ranges from PGY-1 $71,100 to PGY-7 $92,100, but the page does not state whether or at what level this fellow is paid.)
Deadline
Not published
Duration
1 year (one-year clinical fellowship)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year (one-year clinical fellowship)
Clinical exposureClinical fellowship covering all aspects of care for benign and malignant bone and soft-tissue tumours of the pelvis and extremities: clinical evaluation, surgical decision-making, reconstruction and perioperative management, with multidisciplinary tumour boards, radiographic/pathologic diagnosis and systemic/adjuvant radiation indications. Fellows see patients in clinic, assist in operations, teach residents and students, and are encouraged to complete a clinical research project.
Funding · publishedNot published on the fellowship page. (The department links to UI Health Care GME resources, whose 2026-2027 stipend schedule ranges from PGY-1 $71,100 to PGY-7 $92,100, but the page does not state whether or at what level this fellow is paid.)
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
This fellowship is specifically aimed at international orthopaedic surgeons from underserved areas of the world who intend to return to their country of origin.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed, or will complete, orthopedic residency before the fellowship starts · Fluent in English · Plan to return to country of origin to improve orthopedic oncologic care (fellowship designed for surgeons practising, or intending to practise, in underserved countries with a need for specialised sarcoma care)
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not published on the fellowship page. UI Health Care GME visa policy states acceptability of visas is contingent on meeting State Department and Iowa licensure requirements.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not stated on the fellowship page. UI Health Care GME 'Policy on Visas for GME Trainees' accepts J-1 (ECFMG-sponsored), J-2 with EAD, H-1B, H-4 with EAD, E-3 (Australians) and F-1 OPT (first year of residency only); J-1/J-2 applicants must have passed USMLE Steps 1 and 2, H-1B/H-4 applicants Steps 1, 2 and 3; no department is required to accept trainees with visas. Whether this policy governs this non-ACGME fellowship is not stated.
—Not published
Funding availability
Not published on the fellowship page. (The department links to UI Health Care GME resources, whose 2026-2027 stipend schedule ranges from PGY-1 $71,100 to PGY-7 $92,100, but the page does not state whether or at what level this fellow is paid.)
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ required documents✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— Funding information not published · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleOnline application and match through the Musculoskeletal Tumor Society, facilitated by SF Match; applications reviewed each fall, with virtual interview invitations sent in the winter.
Official contactTonia Johnston, Fellowship Coordinatortonia-johnston@uiowa.eduNot published on the programme page
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed, or will complete, orthopedic residency before the fellowship starts
Fluent in English
Plan to return to country of origin to improve orthopedic oncologic care (fellowship designed for surgeons practising, or intending to practise, in underserved countries with a need for specialised sarcoma care)
Registration, licence & examinations
Not published on the fellowship page. UI Health Care GME visa policy states acceptability of visas is contingent on meeting State Department and Iowa licensure requirements.
Visa / work authorisation
Not stated on the fellowship page. UI Health Care GME 'Policy on Visas for GME Trainees' accepts J-1 (ECFMG-sponsored), J-2 with EAD, H-1B, H-4 with EAD, E-3 (Australians) and F-1 OPT (first year of residency only); J-1/J-2 applicants must have passed USMLE Steps 1 and 2, H-1B/H-4 applicants Steps 1, 2 and 3; no department is required to accept trainees with visas. Whether this policy governs this non-ACGME fellowship is not stated.
Application documents
Documentation of medical degree
Documentation of completion of orthopedic residency
Two letters of recommendation
Curriculum vitae
Personal statement (max 500 words) describing how the training would be used to improve the lives of sarcoma patients
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
One-year MSTS-recognised clinical orthopaedic oncology fellowship designed to train orthopaedic surgeons from underserved areas of the world in the management of musculoskeletal tumours of the pelvis and extremities, who then return to their home countries.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Fellows attend the annual meetings of the Musculoskeletal Tumor Society and the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. Other benefits not published on the fellowship page.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation (University of Iowa Health Care)
The University of Iowa Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation (Carver College of Medicine / University of Iowa Health Care) is an academic orthopaedic department in Iowa City.
Fellowship Director; Professor of Orthopedics and RehabilitationOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation, University of Iowa
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Benjamin J. Miller is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship director; professor of orthopedics and rehabilitation for Orthopedic Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Benjamin J. Miller is listed by the official programme source as fellowship director; professor of orthopedics and rehabilitation. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Clinical Assistant ProfessorOfficial program roster
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation, University of Iowa
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Megan Hsu is listed in the cited programme evidence as clinical assistant professor for Orthopedic Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Megan Hsu is listed by the official programme source as clinical assistant professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jill Kain is listed in the cited programme evidence as nurse practitioner (orthopedic oncology team) for Orthopedic Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jill Kain is listed by the official programme source as nurse practitioner (orthopedic oncology team). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
This fellowship is specifically aimed at international orthopaedic surgeons from underserved areas of the world who intend to return to their country of origin.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Department of Orthopaedic Oncology
Houston, Texas, United States · 1-year Clinical Fellowship, with an optional second-year Advanced Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship (clinical, surgery and research) after completing the clinical yearView program profile →