Home›Musculoskeletal Oncology›United States
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Musculoskeletal Oncology →

Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship (University of Miami / Jackson Memorial Hospital)

University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Department of Orthopaedics / Jackson Health System

⌖ Miami · United States directory →

Faculty / program leadership: H. Thomas Temple · University of Miami fellowship pages) · Jackson Health GME page names Sheila Ann Conway

Profile completeness100%
Comprehensive · Core fields complete
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Salaried housestaff position; salary is set by PGY level under the Jackson Health System collective bargaining agreement (2026–2027: PGY-5 $87,091, PGY-6 $90,743, PGY-7 $94,540, plus $75 biweekly supplement). The PGY level for this fellowship is not stated.
Deadline
Per SF Match (specific date not published by the programme).
Duration
1 year
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year
Clinical exposureHigh-volume orthopaedic oncology across bone and soft-tissue sarcoma, benign aggressive tumours, metastatic disease and primary/metastatic spine tumours, with endoprosthetic (including expandable and custom), allograft/autograft, vascularised fibula and limb-lengthening reconstructions. The fellow typically operates three days a week (UHealth Tower and Jackson Memorial Hospital), spends 1.5–2 days in clinic including multidisciplinary sarcoma clinic at Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, has strong paediatric exposure (Holtz Children's / Nicklaus Children's) and no on-call duties.
Funding · publishedSalaried housestaff position; salary is set by PGY level under the Jackson Health System collective bargaining agreement (2026–2027: PGY-5 $87,091, PGY-6 $90,743, PGY-7 $94,540, plus $75 biweekly supplement). The PGY level for this fellowship is not stated.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

Non-US citizens/permanent residents train on the ECFMG-sponsored J-1 visa (Jackson GME). Applicants must have completed an ACGME/ACGME-I/AOA/RCPSC/CFPC residency and USMLE Steps 1–3.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

Postgraduate training required: successful completion of a residency that is ACGME-accredited, ACGME-International Advanced Specialty accredited, AOA-approved, or RCPSC/CFPC-accredited · USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3 completed successfully before the start of the programme · Apply through the San Francisco Match

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3 must be passed before the start of the programme; Florida licensure specifics not published.

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

The J-1 visa (Alien Physician Program, sponsored by ECFMG) is the standard visa for residents/fellows who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents (Jackson Health GME). Contact: Lourdes Boet, Physician Services Department, Jackson Health System, 305-355-1122.

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

Salaried housestaff position; salary is set by PGY level under the Jackson Health System collective bargaining agreement (2026–2027: PGY-5 $87,091, PGY-6 $90,743, PGY-7 $94,540, plus $75 biweekly supplement). The PGY level for this fellowship is not stated.

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

79% of core application fields verified

Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · official sources conflict— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— Faculty information requires reverification · official sources conflict
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlinePer SF Match (specific date not published by the programme).
Commencing dateAugust 1st
Application route / cycleApplications via the SF Match Central Application Service; 15 interviews, held between January and February.
Official contactNancy Garcia, Program Managerngarcia3@med.miami.edu305-689-7600

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Postgraduate training required: successful completion of a residency that is ACGME-accredited, ACGME-International Advanced Specialty accredited, AOA-approved, or RCPSC/CFPC-accredited
  • USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3 completed successfully before the start of the programme
  • Apply through the San Francisco Match
Registration, licence & examinations

USMLE Steps 1, 2 and 3 must be passed before the start of the programme; Florida licensure specifics not published.

Visa / work authorisation

The J-1 visa (Alien Physician Program, sponsored by ECFMG) is the standard visa for residents/fellows who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents (Jackson Health GME). Contact: Lourdes Boet, Physician Services Department, Jackson Health System, 305-355-1122.

Application documents
  • Not itemised by the programme (submitted via SF Match Central Application Service)

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

One-year ACGME-accredited musculoskeletal oncology fellowship with a large South Florida, Caribbean and Latin American catchment, offering high operative volume across sarcoma, spine oncology and complex limb reconstruction with a multidisciplinary sarcoma team.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Programme: no call; attendance at the MSTS meeting, Stryker Musculoskeletal Oncology cadaver course (NJ) and the department-sponsored tumour review ('Keys') course; department sponsors fellows with a paper accepted at a national meeting. Institutional (Jackson GME): free Jackson First HMO for employee, free Delta Dental standard plan, long-term disability, $50,000 life cover, $2,500 annual professional allowance, $1,500 meal card, 28 days vacation, 14 sick days.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

4 listed faculty members

HTH. Thomas Temple, fellowship faculty at University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Department of Orthopaedics / Jackson Health System

Program lead: H. Thomas Temple

Professor of Clinical Orthopaedics, Ortho-Oncology (programme director per MSTS list / UM site)Official profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Department of Orthopaedics, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

H. Thomas Temple is listed in the cited programme evidence as professor of clinical orthopaedics, ortho-oncology (programme director per msts list / um site) for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship (University of Miami / Jackson Memorial Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

H. Thomas Temple is listed by the official programme source as professor of clinical orthopaedics, ortho-oncology (programme director per msts list / um site). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
BMBrooke M. Crawford, fellowship faculty at University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Department of Orthopaedics / Jackson Health System

Faculty: Brooke M. Crawford

Associate Professor and Chief of Division, Orthopaedic OncologyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Department of Orthopaedics, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Brooke M. Crawford is listed in the cited programme evidence as associate professor and chief of division, orthopaedic oncology for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship (University of Miami / Jackson Memorial Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Brooke M. Crawford is listed by the official programme source as associate professor and chief of division, orthopaedic oncology. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
FJFrancis John Hornicek, Jr., fellowship faculty at University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Department of Orthopaedics / Jackson Health System

Faculty: Francis John Hornicek, Jr.

Professor & Chair, Department of Orthopaedics, Ortho-OncologyOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Department of Orthopaedics, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Francis John Hornicek, Jr. is listed in the cited programme evidence as professor & chair, department of orthopaedics, ortho-oncology for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship (University of Miami / Jackson Memorial Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Francis John Hornicek, Jr. is listed by the official programme source as professor & chair, department of orthopaedics, ortho-oncology. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
EJErik J. Geiger, fellowship faculty at University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Department of Orthopaedics / Jackson Health System

Faculty: Erik J. Geiger

Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Oncology, Limb Lengthening and Complex ReconstructionOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Department of Orthopaedics, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Erik J. Geiger is listed in the cited programme evidence as assistant professor of orthopaedic oncology, limb lengthening and complex reconstruction for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship (University of Miami / Jackson Memorial Hospital). The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Erik J. Geiger is listed by the official programme source as assistant professor of orthopaedic oncology, limb lengthening and complex reconstruction. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

Non-US citizens/permanent residents train on the ECFMG-sponsored J-1 visa (Jackson GME). Applicants must have completed an ACGME/ACGME-I/AOA/RCPSC/CFPC residency and USMLE Steps 1–3.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy