Salary/stipend not stated on the programme page; a $1,500 book/travel fund is available. The page notes that its funding structure precludes H-1B/J-1 sponsorship.
Deadline
Not published
Duration
1 year (an additional research year can be arranged if desired)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year (an additional research year can be arranged if desired)
Clinical exposureCombined adult and paediatric programme at the only dedicated academic multidisciplinary sarcoma centre in the Pacific Northwest and Alaska, with weekly adult and paediatric multidisciplinary tumour boards, clinic and operative responsibilities and dedicated research time. Clinical sites include UW Medical Center–Montlake, UW Medicine Northwest Hospital, Eastside Specialty Center, Seattle Children's Hospital and Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center; call requirements are minimal.
Funding · publishedSalary/stipend not stated on the programme page; a $1,500 book/travel fund is available. The page notes that its funding structure precludes H-1B/J-1 sponsorship.
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
Due to institutional guidelines the programme can only accept foreign applicants who currently hold a Permanent Resident Card (Green Card); it cannot consider applicants requiring H-1B or J-1 sponsorship.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Completed an ACGME-accredited residency, or an RCPSC- or CFPC-accredited residency in Canada · ABOS board eligible or certified · ECFMG certification (foreign medical graduates) · Completion of USMLE Steps 1-3 or COMLEX 1-3 · Able to obtain a full Washington State MD Physician and Surgeon licence or full Osteopathic licence · No requirement for H-1B or J-1 visa sponsorship
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Must be able to obtain a full Washington State MD Physician and Surgeon licence or full Osteopathic Washington State licence.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.
—Not published
Language requirements
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
No visa sponsorship: unable to consider applicants requiring H-1B or J-1 sponsorship; foreign applicants must already hold a US Permanent Resident Card.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Salary/stipend not stated on the programme page; a $1,500 book/travel fund is available. The page notes that its funding structure precludes H-1B/J-1 sponsorship.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
83% of core application fields verified
Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleApply via SF Match (register/log in and enter Program ID 3956); cycle dates not published on the programme page.
Official contactCasey Leichter (MSTS list)cel23@uw.eduNot published for the fellowship
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Completed an ACGME-accredited residency, or an RCPSC- or CFPC-accredited residency in Canada
ABOS board eligible or certified
ECFMG certification (foreign medical graduates)
Completion of USMLE Steps 1-3 or COMLEX 1-3
Able to obtain a full Washington State MD Physician and Surgeon licence or full Osteopathic licence
No requirement for H-1B or J-1 visa sponsorship
Registration, licence & examinations
Must be able to obtain a full Washington State MD Physician and Surgeon licence or full Osteopathic Washington State licence.
Visa / work authorisation
No visa sponsorship: unable to consider applicants requiring H-1B or J-1 sponsorship; foreign applicants must already hold a US Permanent Resident Card.
Application documents
Not itemised on the programme page (submitted via SF Match, Program ID 3956)
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
One-year combined adult and paediatric musculoskeletal oncology fellowship emphasising multidisciplinary sarcoma care, innovative surgery and research; it has trained sarcoma surgeons for over twenty years.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
$1,500 book/travel fund; minimal call. Institutional UW resident/fellow benefits are summarised by UW GME (UW Benefit Summary for Residents and Fellows).
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
HOST INSTITUTION
About University of Washington, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine (UW Medicine)
UW Medicine's Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine in Seattle runs the only dedicated academic multidisciplinary sarcoma centre in the Pacific Northwest and Alaska, with Seattle Children's and Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center.
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine, University of Washington
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Jesse L. Roberts is listed in the cited programme evidence as clinical assistant professor; director, uw orthopaedics oncology fellowship program for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Jesse L. Roberts is listed by the official programme source as clinical assistant professor; director, uw orthopaedics oncology fellowship program. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Professor and Chair; Chief, UW Arthroplasty ServicesOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine, University of Washington
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Howard A. Chansky is listed in the cited programme evidence as professor and chair; chief, uw arthroplasty services for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Howard A. Chansky is listed by the official programme source as professor and chair; chief, uw arthroplasty services. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine, University of Washington
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Elyse J. Brinkmann is listed in the cited programme evidence as assistant professor for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Elyse J. Brinkmann is listed by the official programme source as assistant professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine, University of Washington
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Kevin MacDonald is listed in the cited programme evidence as clinical professor for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Kevin MacDonald is listed by the official programme source as clinical professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Clinical Associate Professor (paediatric orthopaedic oncology)Official profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Seattle Children's / UW Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Sports Medicine
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Antoinette W. Lindberg is listed in the cited programme evidence as clinical associate professor (paediatric orthopaedic oncology) for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Antoinette W. Lindberg is listed by the official programme source as clinical associate professor (paediatric orthopaedic oncology). A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
Due to institutional guidelines the programme can only accept foreign applicants who currently hold a Permanent Resident Card (Green Card); it cannot consider applicants requiring H-1B or J-1 sponsorship.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Department of Orthopaedic Oncology
Houston, Texas, United States · 1-year Clinical Fellowship, with an optional second-year Advanced Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship (clinical, surgery and research) after completing the clinical yearView program profile →