Home›Musculoskeletal Oncology›United States
✓ Primary source reviewedClinical FellowshipCurrent availability unconfirmed
Musculoskeletal Oncology →

Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship

Vanderbilt University Medical Center (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery)

⌖ Nashville · United States directory →

Faculty / program leadership: Joshua M. Lawrenz

Profile completeness95%
Comprehensive · Source does not publish application deadline
✓ Primary programme source linked— Catalogue source audit current✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced✓ Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY

What matters before you keep reading.

Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Salaried house-staff position; stipend at PGY6 level (VUMC GME PGY6 stipend: $86,048 effective 1/1/25; $87,769 effective 1/1/26).
Deadline
Not published
Duration
1 year (Aug. 1 through July 31)
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Latest source audit
3 Oct 2026
Duration · published1 year (Aug. 1 through July 31)
Clinical exposureHigh-volume adult and paediatric orthopaedic oncology (Vanderbilt and Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital) covering extremities, pelvis, chest wall, retroperitoneum and spine; caseload roughly 1/3 sarcoma, 1/3 benign tumours, 1/3 metastatic disease/arthroplasty/infection. Fellows coordinate the weekly Wednesday sarcoma tumour board, spend ~4 days/week in surgery plus a clinic day, and have about one half-day per week of protected research time.
Funding · publishedSalaried house-staff position; stipend at PGY6 level (VUMC GME PGY6 stipend: $86,048 effective 1/1/25; $87,769 effective 1/1/26).
DestinationUnited States
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK

What the official evidence currently supports

Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.

≈Partially published

International applicant eligibility

International medical graduates must hold a valid ECFMG certificate (VUMC GME). The fellowship page itself does not state whether IMGs are accepted.

✓Published by official source

Required training level

Hold an appropriate degree for the training (VUMC GME institutional requirement) · Valid ECFMG certificate if a foreign medical degree is held (VUMC GME institutional requirement) · Consent to reference and background screenings (VUMC GME institutional requirement) · Programme-specific eligibility criteria (e.g. completion of orthopaedic residency) are not published on the fellowship page

✓Published by official source

Programme classification

Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific.

?Confirm directly with host

Hands-on restrictions

Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.

≈Partially published

Medical registration

Not published on the fellowship page (Tennessee medical licensure requirements not stated there; VUMC GME has a separate License and DEA Information page for house staff).

?Confirm directly with host

Licensing examinations

Any examination requirement must be confirmed with the relevant regulator and host.

—Not published

Language requirements

No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.

≈Partially published

Visa or work authorisation

Not published on the fellowship page or the VUMC GME applications page. A VUMC Department of Psychiatry page states that 'the Vanderbilt Graduate Medical Education office is able to sponsor J-1 Visas only through the ECFMG' (institution-wide statement published on a different department's page; confirm with the programme).

✓Published by official source

Funding availability

Salaried house-staff position; stipend at PGY6 level (VUMC GME PGY6 stipend: $86,048 effective 1/1/25; $87,769 effective 1/1/26).

OrthoFellow does not guarantee admission, licensing, visas, employment, funding or clinical privileges. Requirements may change by appointment and intake.

International application guide →
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY

79% of core application fields verified

Checked 3 Oct 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.

✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified faculty photograph✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— Current deadline not yet published · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT

Plan the application

Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing dateAugust 1
Application route / cycleApplications accepted through the SF Match (Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship Match); specific cycle dates not published on the programme page.

Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.

ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS

Published entry requirements

Clinical / academic eligibility
  • Hold an appropriate degree for the training (VUMC GME institutional requirement)
  • Valid ECFMG certificate if a foreign medical degree is held (VUMC GME institutional requirement)
  • Consent to reference and background screenings (VUMC GME institutional requirement)
  • Programme-specific eligibility criteria (e.g. completion of orthopaedic residency) are not published on the fellowship page
Registration, licence & examinations

Not published on the fellowship page (Tennessee medical licensure requirements not stated there; VUMC GME has a separate License and DEA Information page for house staff).

Visa / work authorisation

Not published on the fellowship page or the VUMC GME applications page. A VUMC Department of Psychiatry page states that 'the Vanderbilt Graduate Medical Education office is able to sponsor J-1 Visas only through the ECFMG' (institution-wide statement published on a different department's page; confirm with the programme).

Application documents
  • Not published on the programme page (submitted via SF Match Central Application Service)

Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

What this program offers

One-year ACGME-accredited musculoskeletal oncology fellowship in one of the busiest US orthopaedic oncology groups, combining high-volume complex adult and paediatric tumour surgery, multidisciplinary sarcoma care, research and leadership training.

BENEFITS & SUPPORT

Published benefits and support

Programme: funded attendance at two conferences (MSTS in the fall, AAOS in the spring), office with computer and workspace, cadaver lab access, participation in an industry Tumor Fellows Course. Institutional (VUMC GME house staff): 15 business days vacation plus 2 personal days, sick leave accrual, 6 weeks paid parental leave, medical/caregiver leave, FMLA, supplemental disability options.

Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.

FACULTY & PROGRAM LEADERSHIP

4 listed faculty members

JMJoshua M. Lawrenz, fellowship faculty at Vanderbilt University Medical Center (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery)

Program lead: Joshua M. Lawrenz

Associate Professor; Chief, Division of Musculoskeletal Oncology; Fellowship DirectorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
Division of Musculoskeletal Oncology, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Joshua M. Lawrenz is listed in the cited programme evidence as associate professor; chief, division of musculoskeletal oncology; fellowship director for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Joshua M. Lawrenz is listed by the official programme source as associate professor; chief, division of musculoskeletal oncology; fellowship director. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
HSHerbert S. Schwartz, fellowship faculty at Vanderbilt University Medical Center (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery)

Faculty: Herbert S. Schwartz

Professor & Past Chair, Orthopaedic SurgeryOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Division of Musculoskeletal Oncology, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Herbert S. Schwartz is listed in the cited programme evidence as professor & past chair, orthopaedic surgery for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Herbert S. Schwartz is listed by the official programme source as professor & past chair, orthopaedic surgery. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
JLJennifer L. Halpern, fellowship faculty at Vanderbilt University Medical Center (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery)

Faculty: Jennifer L. Halpern

Associate ProfessorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Division of Musculoskeletal Oncology, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Jennifer L. Halpern is listed in the cited programme evidence as associate professor for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Jennifer L. Halpern is listed by the official programme source as associate professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗
DJDaniel Johnson, fellowship faculty at Vanderbilt University Medical Center (Department of Orthopaedic Surgery)

Faculty: Daniel Johnson

Assistant ProfessorOfficial profile & photo verified
Current position
Teaching faculty / co-leadership
Affiliation
Division of Musculoskeletal Oncology, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Clinical focus
Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile

Daniel Johnson is listed in the cited programme evidence as assistant professor for Musculoskeletal Oncology Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Musculoskeletal Oncology training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.

Daniel Johnson is listed by the official programme source as assistant professor. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.

Official individual profile ↗

Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.

◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS

Published international eligibility information

International medical graduates must hold a valid ECFMG certificate (VUMC GME). The fellowship page itself does not state whether IMGs are accepted.

This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.

Privacy policy

Your privacy choices

Essential storage keeps your shortlist, preferences and sign-in working.

Optional Google Analytics is not enabled on this site.

Advertising choices

Advertising consent settings appear here when Google’s consent message is available for this visit. Your analytics choice does not grant advertising consent.

Read the privacy policy