Faculty / program leadership: Mark Glazebrook · Joel Morash · Bernard Burgesson
Profile completeness90%
Comprehensive · Missing application deadline
DECISION SUMMARY
Key facts at a glance
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Stipend of $55,000.00 per year (the PDF gives no currency symbol beyond "$"; the programme is in Canada). The guidelines PDF states the salary is guaranteed personally by the three supervising surgeons and is funded from the fellow's MSI billings; any shortfall is paid by the surgeons. One orthopaedic meeting is sponsored (economy airfare and hotel).
Deadline
Not published
Duration
1 year (1 July to 30 June); the PDF notes that in special circumstances it may be extended by 1 or 2 years, with a Master's degree offered to a suitable candidate
Hands-on
Unclear — confirm privileges
Clinical exposureCombined foot and ankle reconstructive surgery with sports medicine and orthopaedic trauma, roughly 75% foot and ankle and 20-25% trauma. The fellow spends 4 months each with Dr Joel Morash, Dr Mark Glazebrook and Dr Bernard Burgesson; a typical week is two operating days, a half-day fracture clinic, a half-day new-patient office, one research day and one flexible day. Full clinical involvement with call (about 1 in 11 to 1 in 13) and 1-2 research projects requiring papers.
Participation levelClinical participation and hands-on restrictions must be confirmed directly with the host.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
Not stated in the official documents.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Clinical or combined training pathway; exact duties remain appointment-specific. Hands-on participation and operative restrictions are not explicitly published.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
Not published in the official fellowship documents.
—Not published
Language
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
Not published.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY66% of core application fields verifiedChecked 3 Oct 2026 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ deadline✓ application process✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— eligibility · not published by the cited official source— international eligibility · not published by the cited official source— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— Registration information not published · not published by the cited official source— visa / work authorisation · not published by the cited official source— required documents · not published by the cited official source— application portal · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineNo current deadline published in the cited evidence
Commencing date1 July each year
Application route / cycleAnnual cycle with a July start; the programme PDF states the application deadline is March of the year prior to the start.
Official contactKarla Blackmore and Simone Doucet (administrative assistants); director Mark Glazebrookkarla.blackmore@nshealth.ca; simone.doucet@nshealth.ca+1 902 473 7137
Not stated on the fellowship pages beyond the description of a foot and ankle reconstruction fellowship for orthopaedic surgeons; completion of an orthopaedic residency is implied but the PDFs do not list formal criteria
Application documents
Not listed; the division page says to contact the surgeon you would like to work with
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A one-year clinical and research fellowship in foot and ankle reconstruction (with sports and trauma exposure) under three Nova Scotia Health foot and ankle surgeons. Note: Call frequency is stated as 1 in 11 in the description PDF and about 1 in 13 in the guidelines PDF (updated 2025); the trauma share is stated as 20% in one paragraph and 25% in another.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Sponsored attendance at one orthopaedic meeting (economy airfare and hotel); further meetings encouraged where local sponsorship is available; research assistant access; letters of reference from the three surgeons.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Dalhousie University / Nova Scotia Health (QEII)
Dalhousie's Division of Orthopaedic Surgery in Halifax has 16 surgeons across all subspecialties and an extensive fellowship programme. Host: Dalhousie University Division of Orthopaedic Surgery / Nova Scotia Health (QEII Health Sciences Centre).