✓ Primary programme source linked✓ Dated source review current— Current cycle evidenced— Faculty identity sourced✓ Institution mark verified
DECISION SUMMARY
What matters before you keep reading.
Eligibility
International route mentioned
Funding
Travel and accommodation are covered; the grant is paid in two tranches, on arrival and after completion of the report and questionnaire
Deadline
Applications are currently closed; the next deadline will be announced by ESSKA
Duration
Up to 4 weeks
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Last checked
13 Aug 2026
Duration · publishedUp to 4 weeks
Clinical exposureOrthopaedic joint-replacement surgery at a leading Western European centre, followed by a required fellowship report and questionnaire
Funding · publishedTravel and accommodation are covered; the grant is paid in two tranches, on arrival and after completion of the report and questionnaire
DestinationEurope (multi-country)
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
What the official evidence currently supports
Decision-critical fields are separated into confirmed facts, partial information and points requiring direct confirmation.
≈Partially published
International applicant eligibility
The published geographic eligibility is limited to Europe, the Middle East and Africa, so applicants practising in Indonesia are not eligible unless a future call changes the rule.
✓Published by official source
Required training level
Certified orthopaedic surgeon in the applicant's country · Under 40 at application · European, Middle Eastern or African applicant · ESSKA membership · Available for the full fellowship · No previous receipt of this fellowship · European or United States bank account · Complete a questionnaire and written report after the programme
✓Published by official source
Programme classification
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied.
?Confirm directly with host
Hands-on restrictions
Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
—Not published
Medical registration
Registration requirements are not published by the cited source.
?Confirm directly with host
Licensing examinations
No licensing-examination information is published.
✓Published by official source
Language requirements
Fluent English is required; no formal test score is published.
—Not published
Visa or work authorisation
Visa sponsorship and work-authorisation information are not published.
✓Published by official source
Funding availability
Travel and accommodation are covered; the grant is paid in two tranches, on arrival and after completion of the report and questionnaire
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY
79% of core application fields verified
Checked 13 Aug 2026. Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-02-09. Every unresolved field keeps its exact evidence state—unpublished, not yet researched, historical, conflicting, inaccessible or not applicable—so an absence is never converted into a fact.
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ positions✓ funding✓ benefits✓ accommodation / relocation✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ language✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— commencement / intake · queued for source review— Registration information not published · queued for source review— visa / work authorisation · queued for source review— required documents · queued for source review— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review— institutional source · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadlineApplications are currently closed; the next deadline will be announced by ESSKA
Commencing dateIntake date not published
Application route / cycleRecurring society fellowship; monitor the ESSKA open-fellowships directory for the next call
Official contactESSKA–EKA Fellowship Officeeka@esska.org
Deadlines and intake dates can change between cycles. The data-quality ledger above explicitly labels application fields that the cited official source does not publish.
ELIGIBILITY & REQUIREMENTS
Published entry requirements
Clinical / academic eligibility
Certified orthopaedic surgeon in the applicant's country
Under 40 at application
European, Middle Eastern or African applicant
ESSKA membership
Available for the full fellowship
No previous receipt of this fellowship
European or United States bank account
Complete a questionnaire and written report after the programme
Registration, licence & examinations
AHPRA, USMLE/COMLEX, ECFMG, medical-board or local-licence requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Visa / work authorisation
Visa sponsorship or work-authorisation requirements are not stated by the cited source.
Application documents
CV, personal statement, recommendation-letter, transcript and identity-document requirements are not published by the cited official source.
Licensing, visa and document rules depend on the individual programme and application cycle. OrthoFellow does not infer USMLE, AHPRA, ECFMG, recommendation-letter or visa requirements from the country alone.
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
A society-sponsored knee-replacement fellowship offering up to four weeks at a leading Western European centre. ESSKA publishes ten places, precise eligibility and two-stage travel and accommodation support; the next application deadline has not yet been released.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Placement at a leading Western European knee-replacement centre with a society-managed grant and structured post-fellowship reporting.
Benefits may depend on appointment type, training level, visa status and the active academic year. OrthoFellow keeps stipend and benefits separate so a salary figure is not mistaken for the full package.
ACCOMMODATION & RELOCATION
Published housing information
✓ Official source mentions accommodation
⌂
Accommodation is mentioned in the published funding or benefits information: Travel and accommodation are covered; the grant is paid in two tranches, on arrival and after completion of the report and questionnaire
Housing availability, rent, deposits, utilities and relocation support can change by intake and appointment type. OrthoFellow does not estimate living costs unless an official source publishes them.
HOST INSTITUTION
About ESSKA / EKA and selected Western European teaching centre
The host is selected from leading Western European joint-replacement centres for each cycle rather than fixed permanently to one hospital.
Program lead: Faculty at the selected ESSKA/EKA teaching centre
Fellowship supervisor / program leadershipOfficial program roster
Current position
Fellowship supervisor / program leadership
Affiliation
ESSKA / EKA and selected Western European teaching centre
Clinical focus
Hip & Knee training and clinical practice
Qualifications
Not published on the cited profile
Faculty at the selected ESSKA/EKA teaching centre is listed in the cited programme evidence as fellowship supervisor / program leadership for ESSKA–EKA Knee Replacement Fellowship. The verified individual profile describes a focus in Hip & Knee training and clinical practice. This association does not by itself confirm personal supervision, operative privileges or availability for a future intake.
Faculty at the selected ESSKA/EKA teaching centre is listed by the official programme source as fellowship supervisor / program leadership. A separate individual short CV has not yet been verified by OrthoFellow.
Names and fellowship roles come from the cited programme source. A green “individual profile verified” label means the position, qualifications and biography were also checked against an official personal or institutional profile. OrthoFellow displays a portrait only when it can be tied to an official profile or faculty source; otherwise the host institution brandmark is shown, with initials retained only when neither image is available. Faculty rosters may change.
APPLICANT PROFILE
Young certified orthopaedic surgeons from Europe, the Middle East and Africa
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS
Published language requirement
Fluent English is required; no formal test score is published.
OrthoFellow keeps language requirements separate from clinical eligibility. A programme may use English operationally without publishing a formal test score.
◎
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANTS
Published international eligibility information
The published geographic eligibility is limited to Europe, the Middle East and Africa, so applicants practising in Indonesia are not eligible unless a future call changes the rule.
This note is shown only when the official source publishes information relevant to overseas applicants. Applicants should confirm licensing and visa eligibility directly with the host.
ESSKA / rotating European osteotomy teaching centre
European host centre selected for each cycle · Timing set with the teaching centre; exact duration is not published on the current pageView program profile →