£76,582 a year, pro rata per annum (Hospital medical and dental staff, grade Doctor - other). Enhanced DBS check costs £54.90, deducted from the first salary, plus a DBS update service subscription of £16 a year.
Deadline
14 October 2026
Duration
6 months (fixed-term contract)
Hands-on
No hands-on role indicated
Clinical exposureAimed at a senior trainee who has completed basic general orthopaedic training and wants to specialise in foot and ankle surgery. The fellow works alongside two fellowship-trained foot and ankle consultants within a team of 20 orthopaedic consultants, covering a substantial amount of elective foot and ankle surgery and the full range of foot trauma: elective and trauma theatres, elective and fracture clinics and ward rounds. The job description gives an average of 7 to 8 clinical sessions a week, flexible work across orthopaedic subspecialties and a possible 1 in 10 middle-grade on-call commitment. This is a hands-on service-and-training post, not observational.
Participation levelObservational pathway. No independent patient care or operative privileges are implied.
INTERNATIONAL APPLICANT CHECK
Can an international surgeon apply?
≈Partially published
International applicants
Applicants who require Skilled Worker sponsorship are welcome and considered alongside all other applications; they must hold current UK professional registration.
?Confirm directly with host
Clinical role
Observational pathway; no independent patient care is implied. Hands-on clinical activity is not described for this observational pathway.
≈Partially published
Medical registration
The advert states 'Applicants must have current UK professional registration'. The job description asks for written evidence of current GMC registration. Whether a licence to practise is required is not worded.
—Not published
Language
No formal language requirement is published by the cited source.
≈Partially published
Visa or work authorisation
NHS Jobs advert: applications from job seekers who require current Skilled Worker sponsorship to work in the UK are welcome and will be considered alongside all other applications; the advert does not itself promise sponsorship. Overseas applicants applying for entry clearance must present a criminal record certificate from each country lived in continuously or cumulatively for 12 months or more in the past 10 years.
DATA QUALITY & AVAILABILITY83% of core application fields verifiedChecked 3 Oct 2026 · Next scheduled editorial review: 2027-04-01
✓ programme title✓ institution / department✓ city and country✓ programme classification✓ subspecialty✓ current status evidence✓ duration✓ commencement / intake✓ funding✓ benefits✓ eligibility✓ international eligibility✓ registration✓ visa / work authorisation✓ deadline✓ application process✓ application portal✓ official contact✓ faculty✓ verified institution logo✓ official source✓ institutional source✓ accreditation / organisation source✓ verification date— positions · not published by the cited official source— accommodation / relocation · queued for source review— Language requirement not published · queued for source review— required documents · not published by the cited official source— Verified faculty photograph not available · queued for source review
APPLICATION TIMELINE & CONTACT
Plan the application
Application deadline14 October 2026
Commencing date16 November 2026
Application route / cycleNHS Jobs advert C9362-26-0729 (employer reference 362-MEDSCFORTHO-09-26) posted 30 September 2026, closing 14 October 2026, for a 6-month post starting 16 November 2026. A new advert is needed for later intakes; no recurring cycle is published.
Commitment to a specialist career in foot surgery (essential)
Current UK professional registration (advert); written evidence of current GMC registration (job description)
The advert and person specification do not list FRCS (Tr&Orth) as a requirement
Application documents
NHS Jobs online application (apply link on the advert)
Attached to the advert for reading: JD.pdf (job description and person specification), Recruitment Pack, Trust Values, Medical Career pathway
Tailored CV, logbook or reference lists are not specified in the advert
PROGRAM OVERVIEW
What this program offers
Six-month senior clinical fellowship in foot and ankle surgery at Stepping Hill Hospital, Stockport, combining elective foot and ankle lists with foot trauma. Note: The job description header says 'Equivalent to ST3+' in one place and 'Equivalent to ST6+' in another; the advert and person specification require ST6+ (middle-grade) experience, which is used here.
BENEFITS & SUPPORT
Published benefits and support
Advert lists 27 to 33 days annual leave plus bank holidays, NHS pension scheme, salary sacrifice schemes (lease cars, home electronics), NHS staff discounts, cycle to work scheme, salary finance and Stockport Credit Union. Study leave terms for this post are not stated in the advert.
HOST INSTITUTION
About Stockport NHS Foundation Trust (Stepping Hill Hospital)
Stockport NHS Foundation Trust runs Stepping Hill Hospital, whose job description describes one of the largest orthopaedic departments in the country with 21 consultants, two of them foot and ankle surgeons.